Make your own Modcloth Nevermore lovely dress

Here is the original dress, retailing for $89.99 at Modcloth.

Modcloth Never More Lovely Dress $89.99

Here is the nearly identical?! fabric at Fabric.com.

Fabric.com: Michael Miller Nevermore Collection $9.20/yard

Combine the following 2 patterns and you would be set!

New Look 6143

Butterick B5982

The dress requires 2 5/8 yards total, but of course you would need less of the print if you were going to re-create the colourblocking/contrast panels. All up, I would say the dress could be made for less than $50, or less depending on how frugal you are.

Admittedly, these cotton conversation prints are reasonably easy to find, along with basic dress silhouettes. I shall definitely be re-thinking my dress purchases in the future, and seriously asking myself – can I make this same or a similar dress at home for less?

10 thoughts on “Make your own Modcloth Nevermore lovely dress

    • Anything you try to sew for the first time will be a complete headache. Actually, nearly the first 100 things you sew will be… LOL. Now I am trying to sew “just for fun” – it actually does seem to be a lot more fun. 😀

Leave a comment