Have I mentioned how much I love shoes?

Happy Thursday!! My search for the “holy grail” of shoes and the “holy grail” of shoe websites is beginning to culminate. I have found Shoes of Prey.  I don’t think there could be a more apt name for this website.  Design your own custom shoes.  But with free worldwide shipping!

Yes.  The shoes are way expensive.  Fortunately for me, I’m ogling the oxfords which are the cheapest.  Why you would pay so much for heels I have no idea as colourful cute heels seem to abound a plenty.  Colourful cute oxfords?  Not so much.  And also, the graphics are not as good as Mood by me.  But the shoes ship faster (a mere 4 weeks compared to 8 weeks).  And they ship overseas.  Another boon.

Have I been working on my PhD much this week or have I just been designing shoes.  Well…  there’s been a bit of both.  I am inspired to have a huge trademe clear out to raise funds for a pair of Shoes of Prey…  Get rid of many of the “silly shoes” I no longer wear and get one pair of awesome cute oxfords.  I think this seems a fair trade.  But which ones?

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Shoes of Prey

Admittedly not all the designs are perfect – yet. I think there are some small tweaks I would make on a few but… This shoe designing stuff is becoming a bit addictive. I think it’s obvious from above which colours/leathers I favor (although honestly do you think the snake/fishskin looks too ‘pimp’?).

Is it worth it to design your own shoe? Or are they way too overpriced? Or is it just fun to try different combos on the website (without ever actually ordering)?

* * *

Now, what I’ve been wearing the past two days. Well, the NZ heat wave continues. We’ve never had a summer quite like this one. Honestly, the weather this week has been seriously spectacular! Perfect beach weather (which D & I have been taking advantage of. I’ve swum more at Dunedin this summer than all other summers here combined, I think!). So I’ve been enjoying wearing my summery clothes! Yesterday I rocked items that I picked up in the US a couple of years ago.

top: Anthropologie, shorts: h & m

top: Anthropologie, shorts: h & m

Today I’m wearing another dress (I know – jumping the gun on fabulous frock friday again!) – I received my parcel from Modcloth’s Cabin Fever sale and couldn’t help wearing something new. I picked this dress up for about $15 US, I think. I know. The print is fantastically nerdy. I almost think I could get away with wearing it at a conference. And it will definitely transition beautifully into winter. And I paired it with a vintage gold belt that I rarely get to wear. I love this belt (I bought it for about $12 NZD – I’ve seen almost identical ones around town for as much as $80-90). Gold – elastic – it’s amazing. Happy Thursday all!

dress: modcloth, belt: trademe (thrifted), shoes: hush puppies

dress: modcloth, belt: trademe (thrifted), shoes: hush puppies

Leave a Reply

