Am I get older, or are current trends just getting uglier?

Hey readers!

So lately I’ve been a little disillusioned with store offerings.  They’re just…  kind of ugly.  I think it could be a result of my age.  I remember doing peasant blouses, tops with belled sleeves (oh, and I loved them too) and lace-up stuff in the late 90s.  Sure, the whole “cold shoulder” thing is new, but it’s so pervasive I’m already kind of over it.  Not only do I hate the current styles, but also it’s summer here down under, so all of the colours I see make me want to vomit.

I’m actually wondering whether I’m really a “fashion” blogger anymore when this is what is in fashion, and I’m choosing not to engage with it.

So here’s a post of some stuff I think is ugly, yet seems to be everywhere.

9ffa70aee4df5f0a94cef90758465f7a

Portmans: Everything about this is awful.  The colours, the details, the print.

http3a2f2fstatic-theiconic-com-au2fp2fmiss-selfridge-7080-814554-1

I don’t think the belled sleeves and print are enough…  I know, let’s add some bows!

1df7149dac4ee1ef4ebc07dc1edb0b6d

Wow, just wow.  The print.  The sleeves.  The fact that it’s a playsuit.

http3a2f2fstatic-theiconic-com-au2fp2fstevie-may-6442-884844-5

I really want a dress that makes me look like I’m drowning in a sea of ugly floral print, and sets me back $260…

12660_75460_79723

Just proving how equal opportunity ugly is – yes, this is from Witchery.

Instead, lately I’ve been buying a lot of “classic” or “basic” new items, and picking up stuff from the secondhand shops that is clearly 5-10 years out of fashion.  I can’t tell if I’ve just become really cheap, or really unfashionable.

A sign that you’re approaching your mid 30s may be when you won’t buy something that can’t be worn to work.  And let’s be honest, no one is going to take you seriously when you’re wearing the ridiculous stuff that is filling the stores right now.

What do you think of current trends?  Do you like what you see?  Would you wear any of the things I’ve posted here?

2 thoughts on “Am I get older, or are current trends just getting uglier?

  1. If it is a by-product of age then I’m right there with you. I seem to only see ugly clothes these days. I do still have a secret, guilty love of the bell sleeve, but I don’t actually wear them 😁

Leave a Reply

