It’s all so quiet

Hey.

So it’s been real quiet here lately.  I know I fell off the planet for a while.  I’ve found it’s not really safe for me to post anything apart from fluffy fashion slightly soul-less posts (as I get criticized when I post anything else), and I just haven’t haven’t had the energy.

But I feel like I have to post something and acknowledge the craziness of last week – when the USA elected Donald Trump to be their next President.

Where do I even begin with this one (the racism, the mysogeny, the madness)?  I definitely did not vote for Trump.  I was one of those who was absolutely shocked and horrified that he won.  I am now coming to see how divided the US is – it’s bizarre to realize that you are one of the despised educated liberals- seriously, when did being educated and intelligent become something to be looked down upon?  I feel like I’m from bizarro land (Australia and NZ, thankfully, still appear to mostly value education).

I also dread the next four years.  I left the USA in 2007, when Bush was still our President, though obviously at the end of his term.  I spent the first 2-3 years discussing politics with everyone, trying to explain the craziness of how Bush managed to stay president for so long.

I suspect I’ll look back on those years fondly…

I suppose my experience is limited in that I’ve lived in countries that are actually quite far to the left of the USA – NZ and Australia.  But very few people here support Trump.  Generally everyone you meet says: WTF, America?  I’m already tired of this discussion.  But as an American, you have to engage.  You’re the representative of your crazy bizarroland country now.

I wish Bernie Sanders or Elizabeth Warren had been on the ticket.  I genuinely agree that the US’s health care system is completely broken.  After living in countries with single payer systems…  again WTF, America?  Only drastic measures will be able to bring about the changes Americans desire.  And who knows, Trump is so unpredictable we have no idea what the next 4 years will bring.  But I strongly suspect we’re going to see things get even worse.  I hope not, but the changes he-who-shall-not-be-named is seeking to make seem scary, and I struggle to see how they will benefit those who voted him in office.  Seriously…  I look to the future and all I see is the Trumpacolypse.

This is my new official stance:

i-m-not-saying-that-david-bowie-was-holding-the-f

Original source here

For a while I was thinking how I couldn’t wait for 2016 to be over.  Seriously, it’s been kind of a rough year.  But then I realized that 2017 is when Trump will actually take over the oval office…

2 thoughts on “It’s all so quiet

Leave a Reply

