Athleisure

We’re all familiar with that term by now, right?

It’s the trend of Athleisure that really made my recent visit home to the USA feel really weird – fashionwise.

We did a lot of hiking in National parks.  Admittedly, hiking in National parks is very different from tramping in New Zealand.  If you’ve done some “hiking” in a national park in the USA (apart from the backcountry, of course), even doing a great walk in NZ would probably feel like a kick in the face.  I’m just saying…  there’s a reason we “tramp” in NZ and you “hike” in the USA – I’m pretty certain these are two completely different activities.

Therefore, D and I were way over-prepared for our hiking and looked like very obvious foreigners.  We were wearing all of our usual tramping clothes.  But we looked like complete foreign weirdos (subtle differences – sunhats, shorts, our very heavy very dirty looking boots – actually all of our gear was clearly well used and 100% functional).  D was at one point mistaken for a park ranger.  Why?  Because everyone else was wearing clean, brand new, stylish athleisure.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our kiwi “hiking” style

Hiking doesn’t really strike me as being about hiking, anymore.  It’s about crafting the perfect image for your instagram page (seriously.  We observed this many, many times).  And that only comes with really cool trendy hiking clothes.

11891441_10153290035127732_2204663560577623747_o

Meanwhile, in the USA

11892367_10153245015758124_6547450790650813754_o

Everyone looks like this.  Seriously.

For me, hiking isn’t really about fashion.  And even though I used to blog about my tramps and fashion all on this blog, I’ve since separated out most of the tramping.  But now, I find that I can no longer separate that part of my life because I felt really unfashionable during our recent travels (also, not wearing nearly enough make-up).  Seriously, I need to get myself some 80s print or bright coloured spandex yoga pants stat!!

On the otherhand, while everyone out hiking in the USA is looking really fabulous (in my opinion), everyone else going about their every days lives looks quite casual.  As I mentioned in my last post about our trip, D and I were upgraded by an usher to front row seats at Cirque in Vegas.  I am reasonably certain it was because we were ‘dressed up’ by comparison to everyone else (almost no one dresses up to go out to shows apparently).

IMG_20160502_184306

Vegas “going out to cirque” selfie 

As athleisure is becoming more prevalent, inherent casualness is spreading to other clothing.  With all the choice (and at every price point!!  you can look good for almost no money at all in the USA), I do not understand why some Americans often dress so casually, or alternatively, simply badly (e.g. tasteless, poorly fitted clothing).  I know it takes a lot of effort to get beyond t-shirts, sneakers and jeans (my ‘uniform’ of sorts from teens to mid-20s).  But once you do, you’ll never go back.  The variety of jeans, tops, skirts, dresses, cardigans, blazers, scarves and shoes…!  The potential for varying outfits is fantastic once you get past “jeans & a t-shirt”.  I feel like I’m at a point where I am actually starting to look put together.  I’ve come a long way from my jeans & t-shirt & hoodie (a hallmark of the midwest) loving self.

So even though I do wear yoga pants to the gym (although I prefer shorts + bike shorts!), and then to the supermarket or some other occasional errand afterwards, I will not wear them to work or out for dinner.  I must admit that I can see their usefulness when hiking, as my legs have taken one hell of a beating this year (so many scratches from tramping).  Also, all that UV protection would mean no more gaiter tan lines…  We’ll see.

If you want to read more about the Athleisure trend, click here.  Alternatively, if you want to wear your yoga pants all day and are looking for tips on how to pull that off, click here.

Do you think it’s important to look stylish when you’re hiking?  Is there a place and time for yoga pants or are they now as ubiquitous as jeans?

3 thoughts on “Athleisure

  1. Although I wouldn’t necessarily say it’s of high importance to me to look stylish while hiking, I personally don’t have a problem with athleisurewear (and only recently became familiar with this term). If you’re going to be out and about running around and you can be wearing something comfortable, cute and affordable then why not? As you say, there is a difference between hiking and tramping. The average person does not need to have the same kind of durable gear if they are only spending an afternoon walking around well groomed trails at a park, not days and days of climbing mountains with all their gear on their backs. So I’m not surprised at all that you saw this difference when you were in high traffic US park areas.

    That being said, I agree with you about your other sentiments of dressing up. I wouldn’t wear yoga pants to work (with the exception of the day that I had to model in a fitness shoot), but we do have a very casual workplace environment where jeans and t-shirts wouldn’t look out of place. Usually, we are just sitting behind our desks and not interacting with clients or anyone outside of our group (the sales people always look amazing though). I certainly try to wear something presentable if I’m going out to a semi-nice restaurant, social function or church service… but it is sometimes disappointing to look around and see others looking super schlumpy. I would expect people to dress up to go to a show! Or at least make some attempt!

    • It’s possible vegas was a bad example because people there were pretty casual (schlumpy for sure!!). But still, even when D and I were in London in 2014, it didn’t seem like people dressed up to go to the shows there either (again, apart from us!).

      But maybe I’m just looking for any excuse to get dressed up? Because I am.

Leave a Reply

