Fighting the frump

So the issue I’m dealing with right now is FRUMP.  I’ve been feeling ridiculously frumpy.

When I started seriously putting up fashion posts on this blog –  late 2012, and 2013, I dressed like this:

And now, these are some recent looks:

 

Is it possible that my fashion sense has…  Gone on holiday?  Taken a hiatus?  Died?  I’m looking at those outfits from 2012 and 2013, and I still have a lot of pieces in my wardrobe now.  But I certainly don’t look like that.  What.  The.  Hell.  Happened.  No, seriously.

3 years ago I was utterly adorable!  Now I’m actually a frumpy fashion trainwreck.

Certainly there have been some big life changes – changing from grad student to actual junior academic staff.  And it’s been 3 years (I’m properly in my 30s now, so you know, aging and stuff).  Also, growing up in the midwest I definitely lean towards dressing conservatively, but honestly the change I see here is both drastic and a little frightening.

How much of it is just the hair?  Am I trying to hard to dress “professionally” and it just doesn’t suit?  I mean, I accept that I kind of suck at it.  I don’t like it and I never really feel comfortable.

Is it just general life changes and going from my 20s to my 30s?  Have I lost my fashion mojo?  Did my PhD actually break me?  Have my priorities changed (e.g. tramping)?

I actually don’t know what’s happening (if you do, please comment and let me know, I’d like to fix whatever the hell is going on).  I hope it’s some sort of evolution thing where I start out like a cute caterpillar, then hide in a hideous cocoon and come out a big elegant looking moth.  In the meantime, I’ll be over here staging my own fashion intervention.

2 thoughts on “Fighting the frump

  1. I don’t….see the frumpiness at all here. I dunno. Maybe I’m weird, but all of those looks are more interesting than what I typically see people wearing on a day to day basis. I mean WAY more interesting. Hehe. If the second set of photos is supposed to be you “phoning it in,” then I’d say you’ve still got a leg up on most people. 😛

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

    • Aw, thanks for the kind words. Maybe frumpiness is more a reflection of the headspace I’m in at the moment? I just feel like I’ve sort of lost my way, fashionwise. Maybe I’m just struggling to find the balance between interesting and work appropriate? Maybe I’ve been spending too much time on the reddit thread Femalefashionadvice (they generally don’t approve of anything novelty print/twee/modcloth/colourful – it’s all structure, proportions and a lot of monochrome looks)?

Leave a Reply

