Weekly fashion goal: Beat the frump

Happy Tuesday everyone!

Last week I felt super frumpy (there are no outfit photos). I did some internet research (reddit: femalefashionadvice) to try and work out why I felt frumpy, and what I could do to combat it.

I think I’m beginning to feel the effects of my year of no shopping (and many years of doing a lot of 2ndhand shopping).  A lot of my clothes are starting to look tired.  I don’t have enough basics.  I actually, desperately, need to start shopping again and fill in all the holes that I’m finally identifying.

Here are some of the major issues I have right now:

  • I need to update some of my basics (LBD, black cardigan, skinny jeans, cropped jeans).
  • I have a lot of skirts, but the tops that I have don’t pair well with them.
  • I have a lot of loose fitting tops, but not enough skinny/streamlined bottoms to balance them out.

This week, my goal is to try and dress as non-frumpy as possible and take photos of my outfit each day. So without further ado, here is Monday.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

top: witchery, cardi: my ex-work, skirt: herbergers, shoes: dr. martens

Overall…  it could be better. I got the skirt last year as a gift from my Mom and it’s the newest piece and in the best condition. I haven’t worn it heaps because it’s so cute (I’m one of those people who likes to “save” their fave items… Essentially not wearing them. It’s stupid, I know. I’m trying to get over it). Also, for some reason I struggle to find the right top to pair it with. Here, the top is pretty dated (it’s at least 5 years old) as is the cardi (which is, let’s be honest, looking a little tired and faded. I know it needs replacing).  So non-matching blacks….  Fail?  Mostly I was going for getting non-frumpy proportions here so on that I was successful, but wearing a faded cardigan is well, a bit frumpy.  Hopefully I’ll do better the rest of the week!

On a side note, I still can’t really justify any new purchases with the Australian move coming up (money and space both being issues) .  I’m feeling increasingly frustrated because I now know what I need, and it’s clear that my wardrobe needs updating (justified purchases!).

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly fashion goal: Beat the frump

Leave a Reply

