OOTD: Fabulous Frock – Mod. Green. Geometric.

Hey! So I’m finally getting around to posting this dress. I actually made this dress in 2013/early 2014!! I have worn it once before (and even had it dry cleaned) but haven’t managed to wear it since much less feature it here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

dress: made by me, shoes: nine west?  (old)

Finally, the day has come! This was the 2nd dress I made after finishing my PhD (and I was still trying to remember if I could sew or not!). A good friend had given me a gift certificate to the fancy fabric store here in Dunners (with the very creative name, The Fabric Store). And I fell in love with this beautiful silk twill. I am pretty sure the label said Marc Jacobs. And with a print like that, I had to make something quite retro looking (Simplicity 3833).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh that darn silk – wrinkles so easily!

If you’re thinking the dress looks a bit familiar, you’re right. It is the same pattern as my Tardis Dress. Though you saw that dress here on the blog first, it was actually the second dress to be made, with this dress being first.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

How I love this dress!

So I wore this out on date night with the hubs (these photos were taken in the evening hence them being slightly dark – sorry). We went to dinner at one of our fave restaurants in town, then tried to see Deadpool, but of course it sold out just as we reached the front of the queue. 😦 We had to go back and see it the next night. Life is rough like that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yep, still love it

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Up close and personal with the silk twill

 

This dress is one that I do struggle to wear because I feel it’s too much for work (silk and all) but it’s also a little too crazy for weddings, and too not-black-enough for a night out in town (also, did I mention it was silk? Because I really do not want to have to pay for it to be drycleaned every time I wear it).

Where would you wear this dress?

5 thoughts on “OOTD: Fabulous Frock – Mod. Green. Geometric.

Leave a Reply

