‘Merica. It was grand. Part 2: Chicago

Hey my severely neglected readers! So ‘Merica part 2: After our camping adventure, we decided to totally and utterly switch gears and drive down to Chicago. As this was D’s holiday too, I thought a bit of a road trip to see a bit more of the country than MN was on the cards. Chicago was appealing as it’s only ~7 hours or so from Minneapolis, it has lots of museums and 6 flags and well, I’ve never really been there!

So our first day we spent the entire day at 6 Flags, nearly melting in the heat but riding a lot of rollercoasters, to the point where D was nearly ill. Overall it was a fun, but very long hot sweaty day. We were very glad that we spent [a small fortune] on the flash pass so that we actually didn’t wait ~75 minutes for each coaster, instead we waited about 15 minutes, allowing us to ride everything at least once and some things twice. The Batman coaster was probably my favourite. It was the first time I’ve been on a coaster where you’re hanging and I loved it!

The raging bull

The raging bull

Our 2nd day in Chicago was spent at the Museum of Science and Industry (seriously we are such nerds) which is a great science museum. As usual it was aimed a lot at kids, but had a lot of exhibits adults will also enjoy. The highlight for us was going through the U-505 – one of only five remaining Nazi WWII U-boats. Absolutely fascinating.

Here is where we didn’t plan quite as well as we thought we did. We bought a city pass (discount multi-venue tickets for popular Chicago sites) which I thought got us into 3 museums. Well, it turns out it got us into 3 museums, the Shedd Aquarium and the skydeck. So on day 2 we did one museum, leaving day 3 with 2 museums, the Shedd Aquarium, the Skydeck and an 8 hour drive back to MN so I could make it back in time for a friend’s baby shower the following day.

Coleen Moore's Fairy Castle - at the Museum of Science and Industry

Coleen Moore’s Fairy Castle – at the Museum of Science and Industry

I thought this robot at the Museum of Science and Industry was way cute

I thought this robot at the Museum of Science and Industry was way cute

I think overall D and I liked the Field museum better than the Museum of Science and Industry – again it was the ongoing issue that most Science museums are aimed at kids. As adults, they don’t seem to offer quite as much. Whereas the field museum – well, so many fossils. You can’t help but be impressed. Also they did an impressive breakfast for $6.50.

D and Sue the T-rex, at the Field Museum

D and Sue the T-rex, at the Field Museum

Honestly, the coolest fossil I think I've ever seen

Honestly, the coolest fossil I think I’ve ever seen

Shoes at the field museum

Shoes at the field museum

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Van Gogh – aka “getting my art fix”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pretty stoked to see this incredibly iconic painting by Wood

Needless to say we were absolutely exhausted after our 3 crazy busy days in Chicago, but we both absolutely loved the city, were hugely impressed with the quality of the museums (I’d say they were on par with a lot of the museums we saw in London). I wish we could have spent more time there!

So there you go, my Chicago endorsement. You should totally go there. It’s a way cool city and I can’t wait to go back!

2 thoughts on “‘Merica. It was grand. Part 2: Chicago

  1. Great thinking ahead with the fast passes! 75 mins is an insane time to wait for rides, standing in lines is so boring! I don’t go to amusement parks often, but I’m always surprised at how long people are willing to wait in lines for rides.

    I’ve never thought about it, but science museums do seem to be geared towards kids! It’s pity they don’t have anything for adults, maybe there just isn’t a large enough audience to make it worthwhile financially.

    Angelina Is | Bloglovin’

    • Thanks for stopping by and for the comment! I also don’t go to Amusement parks often (there is really only 1 in the entirety of NZ) so for us it was worth it, I mean, when are we going to go back? Probably never!

Leave a Reply

