Follow me on my fashion journey

Hi readers.  I must continue to apologize for lack of outfits.  As you probably gathered from my last couple of posts, I’ve been struggling with the blog lately.  Since I started my shopping ban in October, I’ve admittedly been a bit lost.  I kind of cheated by pre-buying a few things to tide me over for the year and to keep the blog/outfits fresh.

I guess this is the thing I struggle with most – how to keep things fresh around here?  Especially when I’m not allowed anything new, and there is really only so fast that I can sew (and let’s be honest, barely any sewing has happened as of late, with holidays, and a couple of good books and now it’s summer – who wants to sit inside sewing when you can go to the beach instead?!).

But I’ve spent the past few weeks reading about French and capsule wardrobes, reading How-to’s on Un-fancy, Into Mind, and working my way through the Wardrobe Architect and the Vivienne Files.

This week, everything really clicked into place. 

My wardrobe isn’t working for me anymore for a lot of reasons.

  • I’m transitioning from “student” to “professional”
  • I’m in my early 30s – a lot of my clothing from my 20s seems to juvenile or cutesy – dressing like an adult doesn’t have to be boring (I’m looking at you, Lorde).  I can dress like I’m in my 30s and not look like a big frump.

My main wardrobe problems are:

  • My wardrobe no longer fits my lifestyle.
  • My style has evolved and I have a lot of clothes that I either don’t like or I like but don’t have an occasion to wear.
  • Too much stuff – it’s not organized – I can’t see things, so they don’t get worn.

It’s obvious, I need to do a wardrobe overhaul.  But how can I do one with a 1 year shopping ban?  Well, actually now is the perfect time for me to overhaul and assess.

Step 1: Big ol’ ruthless purge.  Things that are iffy or don’t get worn are immediately getting listed on trademe.  Things I can’t bear to part with (but don’t wear) are getting pulled out of the wardrobe and put aside in storage.

Step 2: Start using pinterest more effectively.  Pin looks and individual items on separate boards.  Go back and re-assess in the coming months – do I still like these looks and these items?

Step 3: Photograph every outfit every day.  What gets worn?

Step 4: Slowly reintroduce new items (this will be easy as I’m on a ban with a small budget dictated by what I sell on trademe).  Because of my self-imposed ban, items will have been carefully considered.

Step 5: Wait until after big overseas move and have settled into new city and new home (2016) to start re-building a wardrobe.

I am loving this plan.  So if you’re reading this blog right now in hopes of seeing the newest latest and greatest quirky whatever…  you might be disappointed.  I’m about to embark on a long, slow and possibly painful style journey – but I’m going to document it here.  Let’s be honest, this blog is a very humble blog in terms of fashion, I don’t have many followers, I don’t have sponsors, I’m not independently wealthy.  I’m just an ordinary person with an ordinary budget who loves clothing and has some cool stuff.

So even though I’ve been really slack lately about taking photographs (all my outfits are samey, re-mixed, stuff you’ve seen before), I’m going to do a 180.  I’m going to take photographs no matter what.  Bad hair?  Too bad.  Wore that last week?  Too bad.

It ain’t going to be pretty.

BUT I promise there will still be a few gems in there.  I have a lot of fabric to get through.  So I promise there will still be something new from time to time.

I’m kind of excited about this.  I hope you are too.

5 thoughts on “Follow me on my fashion journey

  1. I kind of go through this same feeling every few years, with my older clothes feeling like they’ve been outgrown; our styles and needs do change. I also have way too much stuff. I like that you have a plan and I will enjoy following along. Personally, I’m working on simplifying my wardrobe and focusing on classic, versatile pieces. I do like the idea of a wardrobe “remix” feature where you take what you have and make different outfits with it (I think Kendi’s 30×30 was the first one, maybe?).

  2. I, too, know the pain of limited budget and outgrowing my clothing. J and I are in the process of finding a new place to live and I’m itching for more change as well — I’m transitioning from red hair to my natural color, ash brown, as well as getting it cut in the following weeks, and I do feel my style changing. I don’t know if it’s because I’m approaching my birthday or not, but I do feel like I’m leaning more towards the simpler look now. It’s hard cause all my clothes are loud and bright when all Iwant to wear lately is LBD and sleek sweaters with big jewelry.

    love,
    a

    http://www.missdecaf.blogspot.com

  3. Your wardrobe problems are the same of mine, also I have huge amount of clothes for the weekend that I never wear to the office. I have less clothes for working so It seems that everyday I go with same or similar outfit (specialy in winter).
    Anyway, I´m a fan of you since I found your blog you thanks to Anna from Melodicthirftychic, so I decided to nominate you for the Liebers Awards, I hope you don´t mind 🙂

    • Oh thank you kindly! I’m so glad I’m not alone. 😀 Yes winter is always tricky – I feel I’m always wearing the same cardigan over and over and over again!

Leave a Reply

