Getting back into the swing of things

Hello all! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and New Years! I’m officially back in the blogniverse, as I’ve been away since Dec 23 on D and my usual Christmas holiday tramping road trip (if you follow me on Instagram, you’ll have some idea of what I’ve been up to). Yes, I’m totally exhausted. D and I don’t really know how to do a relaxing holiday (anyone else remember London last year? So relaxing. Yeah, right). So even though I’ve been back to work since last Friday (after arriving home at 11:30 on Thursday night), I’ve needed the weekend to de-camp, clean out my poor car, try to do some laundry, get groceries, make some half-hearted attempts at cleaning and generally return to reality. *sigh*

It was a pretty epic couple of weeks. We managed to do 3 of the 4 tramps we planned, which is a pretty good hit rate for us (NZ often is notoriously rainy over Xmas).

However, since I separated out my tramping from this blog last year, I’ll let you read about my tramping adventures over on the new blog, if you so desire.

We did get a bit of time at the beach, and did a few touristy things in addition to the usual tramping/visiting D’s family and friends.

Yes this tunic is NEW!  I liked the neckline more than the rest of the cut, but thought it would be a good addition for summer.  I had some money in my fund, and received a $20 voucher to Witchery plus there was a pre-X-mas sale...  But you'll get all the details in a later post.

Yes this tunic/swing top is NEW! I liked the neckline more than the rest of the cut, but thought it would be a good addition for summer. I had some money in my fund, and received a $20 voucher to Witchery plus there was a pre-X-mas sale… But you’ll get all the details in a later post.

While my tramping blog seems to thrive in terms of content (I’m a little obsessed. Writing posts about the trips we do is one thing. I haven’t even started talking about gear!) – here I’ll admit I’m struggling. I’m nearly 3 months into my shopping ban and it seems to be going pretty well. I keep looking at my bank balance and that is really motivating me not to make any purchases.  But I also want to keep things form getting to stale over here, so need to be more thoughtful and purposeful with my posts (a quick lunchtime snap of the same ol’ remixed items isn’t going to cut it, is it?).

Case in point, this morning I looked at my wardrobe and was incredibly uninspired. For a couple of years, it really seemed that I was lacking awesome tops. Now, it seems I have a number of quite nice tops, but no really great bottoms. How is it that I don’t own a decent black pencil skirt [oh that’s right. I sold mine on trademe earlier this year because it was just that little bit too tight and never got worn]?

There are a number of pretty basic items on my immediate wish list:

  1. Black pencil skirt
  2. Other solid colour or printed pencil skirt
  3. Black (cute/comfortable for walking?) sandals
  4. Racerback bras (one for every day AND one for tramping)
  5. Chambray blouse or skirt – or both

And although I’ve had good luck on trademe in recent months (more about that in a later post), I hesitate to part with my limited funds!  So I probably will just continue to do without, because wants do not = needs (apart from maybe those pencil skirts…  seriously).

I’m also conscious of the fact that this will probably, in all likelihood, be my last year in New Zealand.  I arrived here back in early 2007…  Yes I’ve been here for nearly 8 years.  And next year, I’d like to make the big move back to the old US of A (or Canada!) [you may be wondering why since New Zealand is like paradise.  Beautiful, 4 weeks paid holidays, public health care, no guns/limited crime and generally a really super awesome place.  But alas, very very far away from my family, who I miss dearly].  So I really shouldn’t be accumulating anything.  In fact, I should be starting to clear out my existing stuff now (that I don’t use) in preparation for a big overseas move, as it would really be great not to have to have a huge clear out at the last minute.  Also, somehow I expect that 2015 is going to literally fly past and be gone in the blink of an eye.  So I really shouldn’t put off until tomorrow what I can do today, eh?

And finally, I read today that dressing down is the new chic.  I guess I’m not really surprised – Did anyone else read The Devil Wears Prada and remember the bit about how it was better to be understated than overdressed?  Sounds a bit like that.  However, I’m not giving up my dresses.  Life’s too short not to wear vintage-y dresses.

OK, bit of a random post today but I hope you’ll forgive me as I’m still catching up and trying to get back into the normal routine.  😀

7 thoughts on “Getting back into the swing of things

  1. So glad you’re back! I actually opened up the link to your travel blog right now. 😀

    I understand about being uninspired. Most of it comes from not being able to buy something new. Studies have shown that whenever a change occurs, our brains operate for the better. So buying a new piece of clothing essentially kick-starts our fashion creativity. Hang in there! It’ll come back. 🙂

    love,
    a

    http://www.missdecaf.blogspot.com

    • Thank you. 😀 Yes, I am one of those people that loves change (it’s exciting) – I suppose this is why I love fashion. But I also need to be happy with what I have. Working on that. 😀

Leave a Reply

