OOTD: Wrapping up 2014 in plaid

Not many outfits left to feature this year! But here is something a bit different. In my quest to clear out my closet and rid myself of the many things I really never wear, I came across this dress. Picked up from Bebe years ago on a visit home (on clearance!). This dress is really cute, but nearly impossible to style (I’m regretting not taking a photo of the entire dress). As you can see by the bottom, it’s plaid and has a pretty structured skirt. However, the top of the dress is spaghetti straps and a sweetheart neckline. So it’s a kind of sexy looking dress in non-sexy fabric. You can see my quandary?

The fashion equivalent of a mullet: business in the front, party in the back?

The fashion equivalent of a mullet: business in the front, party in the back?

So the only way for me to style it was as a skirt (though I’m sure the fashion huntress could style this up beautifully with a blouse or shirt underneath!).

jersey: kinki gerlinki, scarf: camden market, dress: bebe, boots: OTBT

jersey: kinki gerlinki, scarf: camden market, dress: bebe, boots: OTBT

Despite the slightly awkward style of this dress, I’d like to think this next photo gives you an idea of why I purchased it in the first place – the construction is beautiful!

Love this detail

Love this detail

back view

back view

So yay for wearing something from the back of the closet! But I’m still on the fence as to whether this should really stay in my closet for the long haul. What do you think?

6 thoughts on “OOTD: Wrapping up 2014 in plaid

  1. Keep it! i think this would look amazing with a pair of heels, slightly ripped tights, and a navy blazer thrown over it. sexy and fun. love the way you wore it too ❀
    follow me on instagram: the_ch1ara πŸ™‚
    thesartorialcoquette.com

Leave a Reply

