Fabulous Frock Wednesday – Nov 26 – My newest dress

Hello all!  Happy Thanksgiving!  I hope you’re all recovering from eating all the food.  I actually attended a Thanksgiving celebration here in New Zealand on Saturday.  We had everything, pumpkin & apple pie (I made the apple.  Check out my Instagram for the results!), dressing, potatoes, green beans and…  chicken.  Turkeys cost a small fortune here and last time our friends hosted, they spend $140+NZD on 2 turkeys.  So they decided to have chicken this year instead which, lets be honest, is the sensible way to go.  So no, Turkey is not really consumed in New Zealand at all.  In fact, one of my co-workers said he has never eaten turkey in his life ever.  So there is some NZ cultural information for you!

And on to the fashion!  I’m so excited to share my latest dress with you!  I used pattern Simplicity 1419 as I loved the neckline (peter pan collar and keyhole!).  It also worked with the fabric…  One of the downsides of online shopping, particularly with fabric is that sometimes it’s just not quite how you envisioned it.  Here’s the original swatch from fabric.com:

Amy Butler Soul Blossoms Bliss Twilight Peony Azure

So you can imagine my surprise when the fabric I received was much, much more “flouro” coloured.  Such is life.  I decided it was too much bright blue and green full on crazy vintage floral for a full dress (sadly, it’s no longer the 1960s or 70s).

Fabric and pattern!

Fabric and pattern!

Pattern pieces

Pattern pieces

The trickiest bit about this dress was the collar.  Let’s be honest, I haven’t made anything with a collar in…..???  Nearly 10 years?  Sheesh!

It wasn’t impossible or even that hard – it just took some actual concentration.  Also, as per usual, I didn’t really follow the pattern 100% in that I lined the bodice, as facings are stupid – they don’t look as nice and they’re actually more work than just doing a full lining.

 

keyhole neckline

keyhole neckline

sewing the collar

sewing the collar

…And then I got lazy and didn’t take any more sewing photos.  Sorry team, fail on my part!  But after the collar (and armholes), the dress was honestly a breeze.  So it just flew right along and here is the finished product!

dress: handmade by me, belt: thrifted, shoes: jeffrey campball (via nastygal)

dress: handmade by me, belt: thrifted, shoes: jeffrey campball (via nastygal)

Back of dress

Back of dress

Close-up: keyhole neckline with peter pan collar

Close-up: keyhole neckline with peter pan collar

Shoes: jeffrey campbell (from nastygal)

Shoes: jeffrey campbell (from nastygal)

Yes!  The shoes are new too!  These are the ones that I ordered from Nasty gal ages ago when they were on sale, and the first pair I received were faulty.  But Nasty gal kindly arranged shipping back to the USA which was a breeze.  They are my “all purpose flat cute nude coloured sandals” – probably to be worn a ton this summer.

One last look

One last look

And just in time for spring!  Admittedly, the bodice is probably not quite as perfectly fitted as it could have been, but I’m reasonably satisfied and would make this one again.  I can’t deny that I love the matching print on the collar and skirt.  Yes, I’m a total geek.

Happy Sewing!

16 thoughts on “Fabulous Frock Wednesday – Nov 26 – My newest dress

  1. Just found your blog through Anna over at Melodic Thrifty & Chic, and I’m glad I did! This dress is gorgeous, and I love how you tempered the brightness of the print with the cream top, it hits a perfect balance. It’s lovely!

  2. Becca, the dress is really cute. I loved the way you made the top a contrast plain fabric and then used the print for the Peter Pan collar!!

Leave a Reply

