Ghosts of Halloweens Past

It’s October, so it’s pretty much compulsory for me to blog about Halloween – aka “only the best holiday ever.” I’ve had the idea for and fabric for my costume for nearly a year now, but I still haven’t even started. And lets not forget that I have to make D’s costume as well.

So while I’m slaving away, I’ll leave you with some images of Halloweens past.

Halloween 2004: The year I was dying (my hair – literally!) to go as Rogue. Yes I made the green coat. Not pictured: I’m pretty sure we also went to another party that year dressed as “Teen Girl Squad – I was Whats-her-face”.

Halloween 2004 - Rogue

Halloween 2004 – Rogue

Halloween 2005: The year I decided to go as something obvious. I was tired of going as obscure characters and having to explain who I was. I spent hours making silver-sequined shoes (for some reason I felt the need to be true to the books, not the movies).

Halloween 2005 - Wicked Witch of the West

Halloween 2005 – Wicked Witch of the West

Halloween 2006: The year I went as a Pirate. One of the most fun Halloweens I ever had.

Halloween 2006 - Pirate

Halloween 2006 – Pirate

Halloween 2007: WTH? Oh that’s right. I moved to NZ and Halloween wasn’t really a big thing then. A Halloween-less year. :/

Halloween 2008: Halloween on the cheap. I’m living in a foreign country and can’t be bothered. I’ll just pick up a dress from an op-shop and throw some fake blood on.

Halloween 2008 - Generic bleeding/dead girl in fancy gold dress

Halloween 2008 – Generic bleeding/dead girl in fancy gold dress

Halloween 2009: Lets show these kiwis what Halloween is all about. Made the vest, painted the helmet and axe, decorated my friend’s flat for a full on Halloween Bash.

Halloween 2009 - Viking

Halloween 2009 – Viking

Halloween 2010: Using the David Bowie/Ziggy Stardust costume I made for a David-Bowie specific party back in 2009, and was too sick to attend. Had an epic party with tons of food.

Halloween 2010 - David Bowie as Ziggy Stardust

Halloween 2010 – David Bowie as Ziggy Stardust

Halloween 2011: Finally living my dream of making a “suit of lights” matador costume. I had wanted to dress as a matador for Halloween for about 5 years. Another contender for possibly the most fun Halloween ever.

Halloween 2011

Halloween 2012: I’m broke and also trying to finish my thesis. What are the cheapest/easiest costumes I can make for D & myself? Peter pan and Tinkerbell, of course. Yes, I was Peter Pan, and D was a beautiful Tinkerbell. Another super awesome Halloween.

Halloween 2012 - Peter pan

Halloween 2012 – Peter pan

Halloween 2013: I really wanted to dress up as the magic carpet. D wanted to be Princess Jasmine and me, being a mean girlfriend, told him he had to be the Genie instead (a costume which I also made). Our flatmates went as Jasmine and Iago. The last epic Arthur Street (the flat where we lived) Halloween.

Halloween 2013 - Magic Carpet (our flat was "Aladdin-less Aladdin - we were the magic carpet, genie, princess jasmine and iago"

Halloween 2013 – Magic Carpet (our flat was “Aladdin-less Aladdin – we were the magic carpet, genie, princess jasmine and iagu”

To sum up: Yes, I have frequently dressed up as lot of male characters*. It alarms D a little bit.  And yes, there have perhaps been a few too many Disney characters in a row. Also worth noting, the costumes above are only the ones I’ve made and worn for Halloween. Yes, there are countless other costumes that have been made for other themed, non-Halloween costume parties, and some have been just as if not more epic that the ones you see here.  It’s safe to say that I love costumes… Maybe a little too much.

So what will Halloween 2014 bring? Hopefully something awesome. You’ll just have to wait to find out.

*Halloween is typically the time when women are supposed to dress up all sexy and the like, but where is the fun in that?  Also, I don’t really do sexy – I just can’t take myself seriously.  And besides, dressing up as a man or a traditionally masculine character is way more fun.

5 thoughts on “Ghosts of Halloweens Past

    • I’ve dressed up as Rogue (as you can see above!) and in August this year I dressed up as Mystique. 😀 So yes, X-men have definitely been covered!

      Maybe I need to do another post of “all my other costumes ever”??!

    • Awww, thank you so much! That may be once of the nicest compliments I’ve ever received! 😀

      A costume party is pretty much my most favourite thing in the world ever.

Leave a Reply

