NEWS #3: Ok. It’s official. I’m doing it. No shopping for 1 year.

Dear God, what have I done. That’s all I can think of as I write this post – but I’ve been thinking about this for quite a while.  But let’s get real. It’s time. Time to stop shopping. Not for a month (Feb 2013). Not for two months (Mar 2013). Not just dresses and skirts (absolutely failed vain attempt for 2014). All clothes.  For a whole year.

Why? I’ve had a bit of a blow-out this year. First new job after 6+ years of being a student. Despite my budget and goals to save for this year – I finally had an income. I was going to buy stuff and enjoy myself a little bit.

But it did get a little out of control. I bought 3 winter coats. Even I will admit the excess and possible fault here. D in particular was quick to call me out.

Let’s be honest.  I’m not the first person to do this, and I probably won’t be the last (there have been many others.  Julie of Dresses for Julie. Alison of My Closet is Full and Anna of Melodic, Thrifty and Chic – only she’s been very quiet about it).  In fact, most of the rules below I’ve borrowed from Alison of My Closet is Full.

But yes, I need to save money for other things (travel?).  My closet is pretty much bursting and I need to get a handle on it.  Also, D doesn’t think I can do it (challenge accepted!).

So here goes nothing (literally!):

1. No new clothes for 365 days.

2. Definition of clothes: tops, bottoms, dresses, shoes, jewelry, purses, belts, sunglasses, scarves, underwear, bras, socks, basics, swimsuits, hosiery, etc. This includes workout clothing and tramping clothing and (most importantly!) fabric. If I didn’t include fabric, I would just become a fabric hoarder for a year. Besides, I already have a ton of fabric on hand if I really want something new, I’ll just need to make it myself.

3. Makeup and perfume don’t count, but don’t go overboard.

4. Any money made from selling clothes will be put in an account to use at my discretion.  Any purchases will be documented.

5. I can accept clothing as a gift, or gift cards to be used for clothing. I cannot use cash gifts for clothing.

6. I can borrow clothes from friends and vice versa.

7. Costume items don’t count.

8. Clothing may be purchased for career related events – e.g. job interviews, conferences, etc. However, restraint must be exercised.

9. I can buy 1 handbag (large, preferably two-toned black and brown – suitably professional), 1 pair of sunglasses, 1 pair of running shoes, and 1 lot of fabric for a special project that I’ve had in mind for about 6 months and maybe a trench coat (see #8).

Why am I putting the ban on? In the last year, I’ve noticed pressure to keep things here fresh by always showing new outfits. The easiest way for a new outfit is to buy something new. This is a very bad habit for me to be in. I have so many clothes. I don’t need anything new.

How to make my wardrobe more manageable. I’m going to go old school. When I was growing up, we’d always pack away “winter” clothes and “summer” clothes during the off season. I haven’t done that in years. And here in NZ, it’s tricky as we’re often trans-seasonal most of the year. But I there are some “summery” items (sandals, dresses, skirts, tops) that don’t get worn during winter, and vice versa. I think this will help condense and freshen up my wardrobe when the seasons change!

This is going to mean some big changes for the blog since most of my go to outfits and even re-mixed outfits… well, you’ve already seen. But I promise it won’t be the end of new things.  I have a lot of fabric to get through and I may have “stocked up” on a couple of things before I officially started the no shopping ban (D says that is cheating.  He’s probably right) so there will certainly still be new things – especially sewn items.

So there you have it – 365 days of no clothes starting today.  Am I totally crazy?

14 thoughts on “NEWS #3: Ok. It’s official. I’m doing it. No shopping for 1 year.

    • Thank you! Yes I do try and keep up with clearing out all the stuff I’m not wearing by listing things for sale on trademe. There is always more I can get rid of though!

  1. WOW. This really is news. Have the local TV, radio and other news stations in Dunedin picked up on this!!? I am really proud of you! Feel free to pass along any unwanted cool clothing items to your sisters…..

    • I gave out several hand-me-downs out in August! 😀 You’ll have to bring an extra suitcase when you come to visit – I’m sure I’ll be downsizing big time then!

  2. Wowza! Lots of rules! o_O Well, good luck, brah! I can tell you that the first few months will be the hardest, especially with Black Friday and XMAS coming up! I’m right in the trenches with you, though! Just hang tough! The discipline and creativity that comes from this kind of thing makes it all worth it! ❤

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

    • I feel like the last months will be the hardest! Last year I held out through all the black Friday and Xmas sales (since I was so poor at the time). I can do it again this year! I *think* it will be harder for me when the weather gets cold again next year, and I’m already tired of wearing the same jumpers again, and again, and again! 😀

  3. Oh, I am so cheering you on! A big challenge and a good one! I feel you- now that I finally have a “real” job (aka one with a salary rather than a timesheet and which pays enough for me to be above the poverty line), there is a temptation to shop. Most of mine honestly are replacing items I’ve had forever and have worn out, but still… anyway, long winded way to say, totally getting why you’re doing this, you are not crazy and you will do this fantastically!

Leave a Reply

