Hey baby, it’s another retro dress!

Or rather, Hey look, I made a baby retro dress!

So just had to share these photos of a cute retro baby dress I made earlier this year – started it back in July or August for my good friend who just had her 2nd baby in Sept. And, as she was having a girl, I had to make a dress! But I couldn’t bring myself to make a pink dress as I knew she’d already be receiving a bazillion pink things. So I picked up this retro reproduction fabric (on sale!). It was a bit of a gamble as it is very retro and mustard coloured – I love mustard but not everyone else does. But I thought any budding fashionista baby needs to have a fabulous retro dress in their wardrobe, am I right? So I just went for it.

Baby dress!

Baby dress!

Does the lining fabric look familiar?  I thought so.

Does the lining fabric look familiar? I thought so.

I also made the matching diaper cover.  It’s a pretty springy looking outfit – I think I made the pattern size “S” in a hope that it will fit baby Laine when she’s about 6-9 months old.  I guess we shall see!

The pattern was all straightforward apart from setting in those teeny tiny wee sleeves.  But considering how little fabric it used, this will be a great pattern for using up remnant fabric after other projects.  Definitely going to keep it around!  😀

Front of dress with matching pants

Front of dress with matching pants

6 thoughts on “Hey baby, it’s another retro dress!

    • Aw, thank you for the lovely compliment! 😀 It kind of makes me want to have kids too. Although, then I suspect I would have much less time for sewing cute things!

    • LOL, that seems to be a common theme! 😀 It’s like clothes for tiny people have super powers. Then again, I’m pretty sure all tiny, miniature things have super powers… Teacup pigs, anyone?

Leave a Reply

