Fabulous Frock Friday: Sept 26 (The Doctor Dress)

Here is a project I’ve had planned for ages and I must say I’m very excited to finally be able to share it with you! Yes, it’s another dress I’ve made. Not just any dress, it’s my “Doctor dress”. This fabulous fabric (the Doctor’s favorite things) was ny first spoonflower order. I went with their organic cotton sateen which prints beautifully (the prints appear crisper and brighter than some of their other fabrics, in my humble opinion). It is also super easy to sew on (apart from showing some minor needle holes). The only downside is being 100% cotton, which means it does tend to wrinkle easily.

I had wanted to make a shift dress (to better exhibit the print and additionally avoid matching the print), however, the mock-up I made of that dress (New Look 6145) looked pretty shapeless and unflattering. So instead I made Simplicity 3833 which is a very cute, simple 60s A-line dress.

Fabric & pattern

Fabric & pattern

Mr. Kitters (our flat cat), helping me cut out fabric

Mr. Kitters (our flat cat), helping me cut out fabric

Getting the print to match was a bit of a beast as the print is so large and the drop was huge, however I think it looks OK. It’s a bit out of alignment on the back, but that is no big deal.

dress: made by me, boots: OTBT

dress: made by me, boots: OTBT

Back of dress

Back of dress

Close up

Close up

Yes, the print was placed intentionally here.  LOVE the tardis!

Yes, the print was placed intentionally here. LOVE the tardis!

The thing I love about this print is that from far away it would just look like an ordinary print. It’s not until you’re up close and you can see the tardis that you realize exactly how nerdy this dress is.

I must also highly recommend Spoonflower as the fabric is beautiful, and they provide truly wonderful customer service! Check out their awesome site (or don’t? If you like fabric and cool prints, it is so, so dangerous!).

I’m reasonably happy with how it turned out (eat your heart out, Modcloth!).  I’m also pleased I finished it before the current season of Dr. Who finishes!  😀

Happy Sewing!

10 thoughts on “Fabulous Frock Friday: Sept 26 (The Doctor Dress)

Leave a Reply

