Falling in love with New Zealand all over again…

Sorry for the long delay, dear readers. It’s been a busy and epic past couple of weeks. First things first, my family came over to help celebrate my graduation. I cannot begin to express how awesome it was to have them here, not only to celebrate my big day and meet D for the first time, but to show them my adopted home of the last 7 years was truly special! And the weather *mostly* cooperated (apart from the freak snow storm the day they arrived that prevented me from being able to fly up and meet them on time. It was all ok in the end, as the snow melted and I was able to get on a later flight).

So here are just a few of the best photos I took as we had an epic road trip from Wellington down to Dunedin, including a surprise ski day (we were supposed to go to Milford Sound but the road was closed due to snow, then we lucked out and were able to go the next day instead – just barely as the road opened at 1 pm after we waited for roughly an hour at the Homer tunnel).

Honestly, I’m still amazed at how the weather behaved and how lucky my family was to see Milford Sound in the snow, Mt. Cook (my parents have seen it twice now, which is exactly how many times I’ve seen it!), and no less than 5 of the world’s rarest penguins (again, probably more penguins than I’ve seen the entire 7 years I’ve been here!).

We were very gutted we didn’t get to see the Cathedral Caves as apparently they are closed until October. I was pretty annoyed that the website didn’t say anything about their closure (as you have to check tide times as they can only be accessed within 2 hours of low tide). So we made a special trip to see them and timed the tides correctly only to find out they were closed. Very disappointing. But apart from that, we saw and did nearly everything we had planned!

Pancake rocks

Pancake rocks

Queenstown

Queenstown

Milford Sound, complete with snow!

Milford Sound, complete with snow!

The hooker valley near Mt. Cook

The hooker valley near Mt. Cook

Mt. Cook, revealing itself in all it's glory, just after a snow shower.

Mt. Cook, revealing itself in all its glory, just after a snow shower.

Lake Pukaki

Lake Pukaki

Moeraki

Moeraki

Nugget Point

Nugget Point

Mclean Falls

Mclean Falls

World's rarest penguin, Yellow-Eyed penguin at Curio Bay

World’s rarest penguin, Yellow-Eyed penguin at Curio Bay

I think it’s pretty obvious from above why I love this country so much (so amazingly beautiful and varied) – and that is just the tip of the iceberg. I was unsure how my family’s visit was going to go considering this is our winter, but it worked out great! I can finally appreciated Queenstown now that I’ve been there and actually been skiing. And the best thing about Winter tourism is – hardly any other tourists! The road to Milford only had 7 buses, not 27!

The downside is that yes, some things were closed, like Cathedral Caves and also Tunnel Beach (closed Aug-Oct due to lambing). But we still had a great time and best of all it was so amazingly fun to spend some time with my parents and sisters!

Oh, and yes, I’m totally a Dr. now.

7 thoughts on “Falling in love with New Zealand all over again…

    • Curio bay is near the southern most point of the south island, so not many people make it all the way down there but it’s a great place to see penguins!

Leave a Reply

