Shoes. Shoes. Shoes. Ohmigod Shoes.

So came across this article today about the fact that the average woman spends $20000 USD on shoes during her lifetime (I was surprised and thought that handbags might be the winner, but apparently not)!  As you probably all know – I have a thing for shoes.  But I can honestly say I don’t own any stilettos (never have, either) and I only own 2 pairs of heels!  I own wedges aplenty though.

Alexander McQueen Suede and Velvet ankle boots… $1,035… I know, keep dreaming right?!

I find it hard to believe that flip-flops are the shoes that catch women’s eyes the most.  You have to be joking.  I don’t remember the last time I saw a pair of flip-flops that I wanted.

No, I’m all about the practical these days.  If I can’t walk at least 2 km in said shoes without discomfort…  Well, I will be hard pressed to buy them.  OK, yes there are some silly shoes in my wardrobe and no, they don’t get worn nearly as often as they should.  But good every day shoes, especially boots, brogues/oxfords, and sandals with ankle straps…  these I love and will happy shell out far more than $60 for a pair.  In fact, if they cost less than $60 I will be incredibly skeptical (apart from sandals) as good, comfortable shoes should always be leather, and price often does equate quality.  Honestly, even my converse all star sneakers are not as comfortable as my Dr. Martens.

What is your shoe philosophy?  Do you have any shoe brands that you love?  What’s your average spend on a pair of shoes?  How often do you buy them?  (Last year, I think I bought 5 pairs total!  1 pair ankle boots, 1 pair sneakers, 2 pairs sandals…  and probably something else I’m forgetting).   What type of shoe do you find hard to resist?

8 thoughts on “Shoes. Shoes. Shoes. Ohmigod Shoes.

  1. Well, I used to be obsessed with heels, really high ones. After I was diagnosed with 2 bulging discs in my back and my physical therapist told me to stay away from heels, I started focusing on flats, comfortable sandals, and the very rare low heel. The truth is though – I don’t like comfortable shoes – I find them so blah =/

    • To me, there is almost nothing more satisfying than finding comfortable shoes that aren’t blah! Because I know what you mean, comfort somehow seems to equate style-less. 😀

    • I honestly need more heels. I realized this a while back when both my boyfriend and another friend said they’d never seen me in a pair of heels!! How embarrassing is that?

  2. I don’t do flip flops either. Or, actually sandals much. But then, I’m diabetic and they recommend close toed shoes so you don’t get a foot injury and not notice or whatever…

    • Thanks for stopping by!

      Ah yes, diabetic footwear! Funnily enough, my current research is exclusively on this very subject. The footwear recommendations (closed toe, never without shoes, white socks) are mostly for people with type 2 who are neuropathic and/or ischemic, as far as I can tell.

      Of course, everyone should really be taking care of their feet as both heels and flip flops can do some nasty things to feet/physiology. 😀

Leave a Reply

