What I packed (and wore!) for 3 weeks in London

Ok, yes I am posting a little out of order here, but I did want to do a post about packing.  Because I am an atrocious OVER PACKER.  Like, seriously I have a problem, I always pack too many clothes!

But for this trip, I had highly anticipated much shopping, so I decided to pack very light.  I intended to bring 1 week’s worth of clothing, and not to even come close to filling the suitcase (I did take some photos but they are quite average and don’t really convey my “lightness of packing”).

So I’ll give you the list of items I brought:

  • 1 pair black jeans
  • 1 dress that doesn’t wrinkle easily
  • 1 “fancy” dress for going to shows/dinner/etc.
  • 1 navy skirt
  • 1 pair chuck taylors
  • 1 pair dr. marten boots
  • 1 pair running shoes
  • 2 linen witchery knit linen tunic tops
  • 1 witchery scarf
  • 1 sleeveless black tunic
  • 2 threadless t-shirts
  • 1 3/4 sleeve polka-dot tunic
  • 1 short black cardigan
  • 1 short gold caridgan
  • 1 grey wool cardigan (never worn!)
  • 1 black hoodie
  • 1 pair black lounge pants (for the plane)
  •  3 camisoles for layering underneath
  • 1 swimsuit
  • 1 pair black wedges
  • 1 pair running shorts
  • 1 workout t-shirt
  • 1 pair black tights
  • 1 pair purple tights
  • 1 skinny belt
  • 1 black jacket
  • 1 raincoat (never used!)

Ok, so you’re probably thinking that is HEAPS!  But honestly for me that was like hardly bringing anything at all.  😀  I decided to keep black as my main colour with everything to match.  I did feel a bit hipsterish sometimes walking around in black jeans with a black coat and dr. martens on, but oh well.  😀  And the boots in London in spring were really excellent.  Our day trips to Cardiff and Warwick Castle both involved walking around on slightly muddy grounds, so the boots came in handy.

So here were the looks I created:

 

In front of St. Pauls

In front of St. Pauls

Trafalgar Square

Trafalgar Square

Tower of London

Tower of London

Kew Gardens

Kew Gardens

Cardiff Castle (I wore my jeans tons with my other tops - just didn't get many photos of the full ensemble!)

Cardiff Castle (I wore my jeans tons with my other tops – just didn’t get many photos of the full ensemble!  Oh, and the scarf was one I picked up from Camden Market.)

Anyways, I was pleased overall with the amount and selection of outfits I brought with me.  😀  A super easy to wear versatile dress that doesn’t wrinkle easily, lots of scarves and comfy versatile shoes are were essential.  There is absolutely nothing I felt that I wished I had brought along, so I must have done OK.

8 thoughts on “What I packed (and wore!) for 3 weeks in London

  1. All of your outfits look great! And kudos to keeping the packing light. I always overpack, too. I’m always afraid I’m going to get something dirty and won’t be able to re-wear it, or the weather will be different than what I packed for.

    • Thank you! I knew we’d be able to do laundry, so that was helpful. And tried to pack lots of “layered” type outfits that I could mix and match (and I looked at the forecast in advance to get an idea of what the weather would be doing). I did feel as though I was wearing a LOT of black, but oh well!

      Usually I always pack way too many “cold weather” items and end up somewhere that is a lot warmer than expected! There’s nothing worse than wearing boots when the weather is better for sandals!

  2. Good for you and your light packing! I rarely pack cold weather items. Instead I pack light items I can layer if it gets cold. Add in leggings for wearing with dresses or layering under pants. I also pack a silk 3/4 sleeve undershirt of fine gauge silk. That adds lots of warmth.

    • Yes, I used to work for a company that made silk clothing, so all 3 of my camisoles and both my cardigans were a silk/merino blend which is perfect for travel – they don’t need to be washed as often because they are natural fibres, and dry quickly even after hand washing!

      Leggings are a good idea too! Thanks for sharing!

    • I’m impressed that you are an underpacker! Do you find that you’ve often been caught “without”? And do you pick up things while you travel? 😀

  3. I’m currently making a similar list (because I’m a list maker…and a freak heh) for my upcoming trip in August. It really helps to be able to see what you have so you can figure out how to get the most wear out of as few pieces as possible. I like what you picked out. From the photos, it looks like you went for comfort (which is key!), but your outfits are quirky and colorful (i.e. – just like you!). You stayed true to your aesthetic while wearing items that were perfectly suited for travel.

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

    • Yay travel! Thank you for the kind words – yes comfort was definitely a primo theme for my travel wardrobe – but I’m glad you liked the outfits! Packing success! 😀 Where are you off to in August?

Leave a Reply

