Make your own Modcloth Key of Chic Dress

I can’t help be a little inspired by my post earlier this week when I found the exact fabric from one of my favourite modcloth dresses of all time. So here is another popular modcloth dress that I think could easily be re-created at home – and you could save yourself a bit of money.

Modcloth’s Key of Chic Dress ($124.99)

Mocloth in the key of chic dress $124.99

Fabric.com: All that Jazz $9.20/yard

McCalls M6833 – Not identical but a close silhouette. A few pattern adjustments could easily produce the dress above.

McCalls M6833 – Not identical but close

Only 2 yards of fabric required, so with notions, lining, etc. I think you could reproduce the above dress for around $50USD or less (particularly if you are thifty!).

What do you think?

5 thoughts on “Make your own Modcloth Key of Chic Dress

    • Thanks! I’m hoping my sewing goal this year helps me save money and make some really cool dresses – and not just hoard fabric! LOL. *fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

