2014 Goals

Well, it’s that time of year again.  Time to set the big goals for 2014.  Apparently setting resolutions is passe but I don’t really care.  It’s a tradition for me.  You’ve already been clued in to the 2014 challenge (dresses and skirts cannot be purchased, only made).  So what other crazy hair-brained ideas have I dreamed up for this year?

We already know I did pretty well in 2013 – I mean, I finished the thesis and that was the biggie right there!  So time to set some things up for 2014.

  1. Graduate (hey, the PhD has already been accepted so it’s more of a formality at this point, but then I really will be a Dr. so that is pretty exciting)!  Also, show my fam an absolutely amazing time (and the sheer awesomeness of NZ) when they [hopefully] come over for it.
  2. Buy the camera of my dreams – Olympus OMD EM5 – and a macro lens.  Take beautiful amazing awe-inspiring tramping photos.

    The Olympus OMD EM-5. How beautiful you are!

  3. Save money.  Lots and lots of money.  ($5K minimum but $10K+ would be better)
  4. Take D to MN.
  5. Get my tattoo removed.
  6. Do as much tramping as possible.  Maybe the hump ridge?  Routeburn in winter?
  7. Run the Dunedin half-marathon (Sept).
  8. Do the Kepler Challenge (Dec).
  9. Only allowed to buy 1 dress and 1 skirt – all the rest must be handmade by yours truly.

Yep.  That’s plenty of sheer and utter craziness.  Wish me luck!

8 thoughts on “2014 Goals

  1. WHAT? Remove your tattoo??? What’s the scoop on that, is there a specific reason or are you just tired of it? Hmm, we’ll have to chat about that. And you’re going to run a half marathon, awesome! Good for you! And what’s the Kepler challenge?

    Anyway, they sound like very solid, good goals. Oh and I especially like the “take D to MN” part, I look forward to spending some time with him and getting to know him! (Question is, is he ready for the craziness which is our family?!?!?) Hah!

    • Yes, I’d like to be able to wear necklaces and things again!

      The Kepler Challenge is running the Kepler track (60km) in a day. We walked [most of] it in a day back in 2012, so I don’t think running it would be that much more difficult.

    • Yes I’m worried I may have set myself some crazy and lofty goals for this year – but we shall see how I do. 😀

  2. Wow! I was also surprised to read about your tattoo removal goal. I can see you wanting to be able to wear necklaces again — that tattoo kind of prevents that, doesn’t it? I’m not a huge fan of tattoos myself, but I think yours is pretty elegant. It’s like a permanent necklace!

Leave a Reply

