Motorcycles (and mayhem?)

Catching up again!

It was a few weeks ago that D and I had an outing to the Otago Museum to check out the Revolution: 100 years of Motorcycles exhibit. If you want a virtual tour of the exhibit, check out this link on youtube. The exhibit is really quite interesting and very well done and there are a ton of bikes on display!

Of course, the most fun part were the 5 or so different bikes that you were allowed to climb on!

D on the bike of his choice!

D on the bike of his choice!

Me on the child's bike.  :D

Me on the child’s bike. 😀

The exhibit is well worth checking out even if you aren’t a motorcycle person (I think it’s safe to say that I am not, however funnily enough I am dating one).  The very early motorcycles from the beginning of the century are particularly fascinating.  It’s on until Feb 16, 2014.

The only downside of this exhibit is that the text on the displays is very small and gray and sometimes difficult to read.  *sigh*  I must be getting old!  Also, I’m clearly becoming extremely critical of exhibits…  LOL?

The coolest (weirdest?) bike in the exhibit (in my humble non-expert opinion)

The coolest (weirdest?) bike in the exhibit (in my humble non-expert opinion)

What to wear to a motorcycle exhibit?  A black BB Dakota jacket and Dr. Martens, obviously.  (Actually, I had no idea that was what we were planning to do.  It was sheer coincidence that I was wearing this outfit).

What to wear to a motorcycle exhibit? A black BB Dakota jacket and Dr. Martens, obviously. (Actually, I had no idea that was what we were planning to do. It was sheer coincidence that I was wearing this outfit).

BTW, you probably didn’t notice, but yes, that is the Twilight jacket of fame, but in black. It was sold on modcloth for ages but I think I bought mine through amazon.  It is actually a very cute, practical casual jacket and I used to wear it heaps – although a bit less in the last couple of years.

jumper: kinki gerlinki, skirt: vintage (trademe), boots: Dr. Martens

jumper: kinki gerlinki, skirt: vintage (trademe), boots: Dr. Martens

front view.  necklace: modcloth

front view. necklace: modcloth

Um, happy motorcycle exhibiting?  😀

Leave a Reply

