Where to shop?

Dear readers.  I am in search of some new brands and stores to love.  Can you help?  I think part of my problem might be my geographical location (which I am always aware of) and thus the limited selection.

I love to shop online.  Mostly because I feel like I should be able to find anything I want at nearly any price point or level of quality and have it delivered to my door.  Unfortunately the real world doesn’t work this way.  And I find that I’ve become quite dependent on a few select brands.  Mostly modcloth.  And as much as I love modcloth, at the moment I find… well, I think it seems a bit, er, youngish for me.

Maybe I’m getting OLD.  Ok, I know I’m getting old.  But surely there should be a brand out there for me, right?  A 30 year old on a budget who wants to look stylish, but not like she’s 20.  Because I’m not 20, I’m 30!  But I’m also not dead yet.  Lately I feel like a lot of modcloth stuff is aimed at the 18-25 sector.  They must have more money than I do.

So where to shop instead?  I can’t afford to shop at Storm.  I LOVE Witchery (it’s the one store I actually shop at here in Dunedin), but must relegate myself to the clearance racks and sales.  Nasty Gal, Urban Outfitters and Free People are really for shoes only, and then of course they must be on sale.

ASOS is hit and miss at best (could it be that I’m limited to their sale items?).  However, the free shipping works in their favor.

I was a little bit jealous to read the other day on Dresses for Julie’s blog about her love for The Limited.  Just to have that one “go to” store, where you know the clothes fit and you’ll find something you like.  I don’t really have that these days.  It used to be modcloth.  But as I said above, modcloth has just gone a bit too juvenile/conversational/whimsical.  Sometimes I need some nice, casual but chic looking things.  Remember, I don’t have a dress code and therefore there is no need to look professional.  But I don’t want to look like an undergrad.  We’re aiming for PhD Chic, folks!

So where does this leave me?  Does anyone else feel like this?  Or am I just being too picky?

3 thoughts on “Where to shop?

  1. Ohh, I love the idea of PhD chic! I agree about Modcloth, while I still love their stuff, I think I’ve passed the age to be able to wear most of it. It’s a sad day. I hope you find your go-to store, if I think of any to suggest, I’ll let you know 🙂

    • The fact that stuff I see on modcloth is so cute, but I find the stuff of theirs that I have is becoming less “wearable” makes me so sad. I think I’ve decided Witchery is my new fave… except that I can only afford their clearance items! *sigh*

Leave a Reply

