Fabulous Frock Friday: Aug 30

Spring appears to be arriving here in Dunedin. We’ve had some extremely glorious sunny weather and after the mild winter we’ve had, I’m feeling quite spoiled. In this week’s Fabulous Frock Friday post, I’ve taken some inspiration from Anna of Melodic Thrifty and Chic who often includes stories of where she was going along with her amazing outfit photos.

Spring has sprung!

Spring has sprung!

On Friday D and I had a proper date night. My lovely flatmates gave me a gift certificate for my birthday to one of Dunedin’s swankier restaurants, Scotia. Now, you probably don’t remember, but my birthday was back in April. Yes, April. And as of yet we hadn’t had time to use is (probably due to this pesky little PhD thesis that I had been working on up until July). Well, Scotia runs an “early bird special” of two courses if you arrive between 5-6pm. Since Elysium was showing at 6:45 (and I have also been waiting months to use my free movie tickets – our theatre here is great – buy 8 tickets get the 9th one free), well hey, it was a date, an awesome free date. We had dinner at 5 pm, went to a movie at 6:45 and were at home and in bed by about 9:15. Yep, we’re officially on our way to being a couple of elderly people.

I know you’re probably shocked that I do, in fact, own a solid coloured dress. Sure, it is an incredibly vivid colour, but still.

Blossoms!

Blossoms!

Dress: Modcloth, belt: Thrifted, tights: Farmers, boots: Jeffrey Campbell Showpony

Dress: Modcloth, belt: Thrifted, tights: Farmers, boots: Jeffrey Campbell Showpony

It'a a date: Long suffering boyfriend makes an appearance!

It’a a date: Long suffering boyfriend makes an appearance!  (the sun was too bright for me).  And yes, I did buy that shirt for him.

Now, show me the food!  I know it is super nerdy to take photos of food, but hey, this was for blog posterity.  😀  And we were alone in the restaurant (remember, 5 pm?), so there was no one to judge.

Entree (and like a couple of elderly people, we ordered the SAME entree)

Entree (and like a couple of elderly people, we ordered the SAME entree): Salmon and crustinis with spicy spread thingy

My main - smoked beef, with mushrooms and chips

My main – smoked beef, with mushrooms and chips.  Yes, that is medium rare, folks.  I’ve come along way in my culinary development.

D's main: Lamb on white bean (but mostly garlic?) mash, with mashed peas and chips

D’s main: Lamb on white bean (but mostly garlic?) mash, with mashed peas and chips

Since it was my very very belated birthday dinner (and my flatmates are very generous), we also got delicious dessert. AKA “the most important course”.  My suspicions that D loves all things lemon was officially confirmed.

D's dessert: "Lemon" (Lemon cream with grapefruit jelly and lemon biscotti)

D’s dessert: “Lemon” (Lemon cream with grapefruit jelly and lemon biscotti)

My dessert: Apple cinnamon and hazelnut filo with vanilla bean ice cream

My dessert: Apple cinnamon and hazelnut filo with vanilla bean ice cream

So there you have it.  A very fashionably late 30th birthday dinner date.

Leave a Reply

