Fabulous Frock Friday: Aug 16

How is it Friday already? How is August half over? Where is this year going?!! *PANIC ATTACK!!*

Naw, just kidding. I’m just in a chirpy mood after yesterday – scoring what is possibly the best vintage dress ever. Not even joking. Check this out:

Dress: vintage, belt: vintage, boots: Jeffrey Campbell Showpony (via Nasty Gal), ring: vintage (via etsy)

Dress: vintage, belt: vintage, boots: Jeffrey Campbell Showpony (via Nasty Gal), ring: vintage (via etsy)

Green + Printed = Love.

Let me describe this amazing find. Every third Thursday of the month or so, there is a “Market day” here at the Uni. Mostly filled with people selling crafty goods (knitted beanies, anyone), second hand books and vintage clothing. Back in the days when I was running my etsy shop, I would try and sell my headbands and so forth there – with virtually no luck apart from the first ever market I set up at, where mostly I sold stuff to my friends. Anyways – I literally never stop and look at the stuff being sold because I’m too busy or market stuff just isn’t my thing. But yesterday on my way to lunch I decided to stop and have a look at the profusion of vintage stalls. The first one I stopped at, the first thing I saw was this dress. I asked the woman how much, she said $10. I went and took out some cash and came back promptly to purchase said dress (no, I didn’t even try it on. I am just good with sizing). I asked her why she was selling such a fabulous item – she said she was clearing out anything she didn’t wear or didn’t fit. Apparently said dress no longer fit, so out it went. Lucky me!!!  [note to self: learn from others – never become one of those people who just hoards heaps of vintage items they don’t wear]

Needless to say, I am stoked. I had been lamenting my lack of “new” items lately – but this more than sates the craving for something new, because something vintage and fabulous and cheap is oh so much more exciting. Yes, I am still patting myself on the back right now.

So there you go. Despite the fact that I almost never go thrifting or op-shopping, I just lucked out this one time. 😀

Also, I realize the black tights are a bit heavy for the print – but I thought green or yellow tights would just be too much. Yes, this is probably a bare legs dress but, it’s still “winter” here!

Finally, a good photo of the shoes, the glorious shoes!

Finally, a good photo of the shoes, the glorious “thesis reward” shoes!

My fabulous ring.  And yes, I've started painting my nails again!

My fabulous ring. And yes, I’ve started painting my nails again!

One thought on “Fabulous Frock Friday: Aug 16

  1. My first thought when I saw your dress was, ‘Man, I love the vintage vibe emanating from this.’ Then I looked at your clothing list and I saw that it is vintage. Of course. Haha. So awesome! I love the colors! And fantastic shoes (as always). You have quite the collection, madam!

    – Anna

Leave a Reply

