What I wore Thursday: The 80s called

…and they want their shirt back.

Just chillin' on the steps at Uni

Just chillin’ on the steps at Uni

shirt: clothing swap, skirt: trademe (paper scissors brand), tights: ? farmers (nz dept store), shoes: OTBT Hutchinson

shirt: clothing swap, skirt: trademe (paper scissors brand), tights: ? farmers (nz dept store), shoes: OTBT Hutchinson

You may find yourself wondering – where did I get that shirt and why am I wearing it in public? I picked it up at a swap months ago. I knew it was awesome but I wasn’t entirely sure it was “wearable” but since it was vintage, I also figured I could flick it on trademe if nothing else.

Considering my complete disillusionment with my current wardrobe, I decided to start wearing things that didn’t often get worn. Believe it or not, this outfit started with these tights. I know, basic grey tights with a nice subtle geometric pattern. Then came the skirt. Then this blouse was just sitting there and went so very well with the skirt (who cares if it doesn’t really compliment the tights – once they are on, I’m not swapping them for something else!). I asked D if I looked “weird” and he said despite the shirt being “very poofy” – “it’s uni so who cares.” So there you go. It’s uni, so who cares if I wear something weird.

I don’t know. Part of me loves this shirt. Yes, the 80s, fashion-wise, were often an atrocious decade. You’ve gotta love them for it. But I’m still not going to start wearing a jean jacket again, or worse, jean jacket paired with jean anything else.

Sure, the blouse probably came from someone’s Nana. But I’m still going to rock it. If someone isn’t staring at what you’re wearing, you’re doing it wrong. : P

3 thoughts on “What I wore Thursday: The 80s called

Leave a Reply

