What I wore: Monday

April seems to have nearly disappeared in the blink on an eye! This weekend was pretty low key – D and I had a proper date night on Saturday – dinner and a movie (Kiwis don’t really have a dating culture the same as the USA. If you want to know more, I suggest reading this). We went to see Iron Man 3 which apparently has been released here in NZ prior to the USA. It was pretty fantastic – I must say I enjoyed it immensely.

We also watched Any Day Now which is quite an amazing movie about a gay couple trying to adopt a child. Highly recommended. Β D and I thought it was based on a true story, but this was not the case (some elements of truth inspired the story). Regardless, definitely recommend that one, considering gay marriage is quite the relevant issue around the globe at the moment.

I also watched A Royal Affair which was honestly one of the best movies I have seen in a long long time. I mean, the above movies were great but A Royal Affair… kind of blew my mind. I mean, I watched it because it was a period film and a romance but the history (all of which is true, btw) was really interesting and I thought the acting and character depth was superb. As an FYI, it is in Danish with English subtitles. If any of that sounds remotely interesting, watch it asap!

On to the fashion! Today I’m wearing a skirt recently picked up on trademe for $1 plus $4 for shipping. Not too bad if I say so myself. It’s a brand called Paper Scissors which is Australian, I think. I gather it’s not a very expensive brand, but they have some cute things and this skirt is quite well made. It’s an interesting teal colour, and I like the layers and proportion.

I was clearly a bit lazy this morning and just paired it with a black top and black tights but in my defense, it is Monday, after all.

scarf: dunedin popup clearance store, top: my ex-work, skirt: trademe (paper scissors brand), shoes: tradme (mi piaci)

scarf: dunedin popup clearance store, top: my ex-work, skirt: trademe (paper scissors brand), shoes: tradme (mi piaci)

surprise!  my top is actually a cardigan...

surprise! my top is actually a cardigan…

Spotted this guy in my chosen photo location.

Typical NZ spider spotted while doing photo shoot.

Typical NZ spider spotted while doing photo shoot.

Yes, he is a decent representation of Spiders here. I have seen several at least this size (once in our bathroom I found a spider so large I thought it was fake and had to get my flatmates in to confirm it was real. My zoologist flattie called it a “supermodel spider”. And no, we did not kill it, we put it outside).

Although, admittedly I am not a super huge fan of spiders… see below.

How I feel about the spider.

How I feel about the spider.

Happy Monday!

6 thoughts on “What I wore: Monday

  1. That skirt is so cute, I can’t believe you got such a good deal on it! I should have you keep your eyes open for deals for me!! πŸ™‚

    And yes, that spider would have freaked me out too. I always tell my kids that spiders are good, they eat bugs, etc. but belong OUTside. Does NZ have any poisonous spiders or are they safe?

  2. First off, that spider looks fierce. I can’t stand spiders, no matter how innocuous most of them happen to be. I’m sorry, little guy. I really am. Heh. Second, for $5 that skirt is a steal! Very cool! Finally, those shoes! My god, woman. You seriously have the best kicks. πŸ˜€

    – Anna

  3. Love those shoes! And this skirt is so pretty, love the tiers and color! You are too cute, I hate spiders! Yuck.
    Jessi
    haircutandgeneralattitude.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

