Recommended reads & what I wore Wednesday

How is this for a fashion faux pas? Yes, I am wearing the exact same cardigan 2 days in a row! I know, I know. But honestly, it is my only brown cardi. And I was dying to wear the new headband which, admittedly, isn’t quite the magic hair fix that I had hoped it would be. Also, it’s super cute, but it doesn’t really go with everything quite as well as I may have hoped either. Alas… I may have to stick with cute hats!

cardigan: trademe, top: my ex-work, skirt: trademe, boots: OTBT Hutchinson, necklace: etsy, headband: etsy

cardigan: trademe, top: my ex-work, skirt: trademe, boots: OTBT Hutchinson, necklace: etsy, headband: etsy

 

I’ve been wanting to blog for quite a while about what I’ve been reading as of late. As I’ve mentioned before, D is a voracious reader and has put me onto some excellent sci fi and fantasy. I’m sure I’ve been reading heaps and heaps – but all I can think of are the last few.  You might be wondering how a PhD student has time for any reading and let me just tell you I had a lot of time during my last experiment.  Also, 1+ hour total walking to and from uni, and 3-4 hour long gym sessions a week allow for ample amounts of audiobook consumption. Without further adieu, I’ve recently finished:

  1. The Daylight War by Peter V. Brett (Demon Cycle Series, book 3)
  2. Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson
  3. Magician by Raymond E. Fiest (Riftwar saga, book 1)
  4. The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson (Mistborn, book 1)

Currently I’m reading:

  1. The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson (Mistborn, book 2)
  2. Wool by Hugh Howey

What I want to read next:

  1. The Iron Seas series by Meljean Brook (steampunk + romance – sounds awesome and has decent reviews)

I highly recommend Warbreaker because it’s a nice stand alone fantasy book (whereas, the Riftwar Saga is apparently some ridiculous number of books not all directly related but all in the same dimension…).  Also, if you’re noting a lot of Brandon Sanderson in the list, well, he’s an amazingly creative author.  I mean, he took over (finished and saved, in my humble opinion) the Wheel of Time.  I must give credit where credit is due!

The Demon cycles books 1 & 2 were amazing, like i-can’t-put-them-down awesome, but The Daylight War was hugely disappointing (two of the characters had what can only be described and hugely annoying and vapid interaction).  Also, Wool has great – no, outstanding – reviews on amazon (this is the only sci-fi in the lot, as well as being quite a believable post-apocalyptic story), but I’m finding the 2nd book a bit slow…  I think I just need to keep at it.

What are some fantastic books that you’ve read lately?

 

Leave a Reply

