Tuesday

And April flies by! 9 weeks (67 days) until I plan to submit my thesis. My apologies if you are tired of hearing about the PhD at this point. I am probably going to offend some people with my next statement, but I think a PhD is a bit like having a child – your life revolves around it.

Anyways, not too much of note at the moment. I am working on some statistical analysis this week.

We are finally getting into proper Dunedin autumn weather. Cold and rain. Hence the boots and hat today. I am wishing I had a better camera yet again, as the colours in today’s scarf are really beautiful (pinks, orange, brown and cream) but of course my camera (in combination with the lighting) doesn’t do them justice. I wouldn’t ordinarily pick a scarf like this one but I realized none of my scarves matched brown (the cornerstone colour of my wardrobe!). Thus I had a wardrobe hole to fill.

And even though skinny jeans paired with tall boots is apparently no longer the thing – I don’t care. This is Dunedin. And I am a grad student.

hat: eejay designs, cardi: trademe, scarf: witchery, top: cotton on, jeans: 7 for all mankind, boots: trademe (eject)

hat: eejay designs, cardi: trademe, scarf: witchery, top: cotton on, jeans: 7 for all mankind, boots: trademe (eject)

And yes, I am obsessed with Witchery scarves. But they’re so pretty and you can get them on clearance for cheap. And they absolutely make an outfit.

Also, I am loving this had as my hair is getting to what can only be described as a hideously awkward length. I went to get it trimmed last week and I am now thinking my hairdresser didn’t take nearly as much off the back as she should have. I am using winter hats as a serious cover for the hair!

6 thoughts on “Tuesday

  1. Aw crap, skinny jeans and boots is no longer a thing? What am I going to do with all these skinny jeans and boots?

    • It’s tall/knee boots and jeans only (jeans and short boots is the new cool). Regardless, I’m in denial. I heard it from a friend who read it in a magazine last year and that is ALL that I’ve heard. As far as I’m aware, it’s still OK (however, riding boots are probably the preferred tall boots at this point but I don’t any. I’m going to keep on wearing the boots I do own.) 😀

  2. Hm. Well, I now have tall brown (riding-esque) boots and cowboy boots… and short black boots… so I guess I have the gamut of boots pretty much covered. Lucky us, we get a lot of opportunities to wear them… 😛 You should do a post with what the HOT trends are right now!! And I wouldn’t mind hearing more about your take on fabrics and what is quality/long lasting, yet affordable. Blog on, my friend.

    • You are totally covered with boots. 😀 I just have a boot obsession.

      Thanks for the suggestions – I love them as I absolutely need ideas of what to blog about at the moment!! : D Keep your eyes peeled for upcoming posts!

  3. Man, those boots rock. The worn look and the slouch factor! ❤ What's this about tall boots and skinnies? I don't read fashion mags, so I have no idea what this is all about. Haha. Maybe that's why I end up going against the grain with my looks. I'm basically an out of touch old person. Heh.

    – Anna

    • Haha – kudos to not reading fashion magazines! “I’m basically an out of touch old person” – I’m stealing that as my new fashion motto. : D I promise to give you credit! LOL. Maybe that is why I love your style so much – I’m just as out of touch, and I believe – even older!

Leave a Reply

