My thoughts are with Boston

I had some other posts lined up for this week, but I don’t feel right posting them without acknowledging what happened in Boston yesterday.  I was stunned and shocked and deeply saddened by what happened.  It was even scarier considering two of my best friends were in Boston, watching some other friends run the marathon.  They were only blocks away and heard the bombs go off.  Fortunately they are OK and now safely back in MN, but that was far too close a call for comfort.  They had been standing at the site of one of the bombs literally 20 min before they were detonated.

I spent yesterday, and today still, glued to the news.  I flicked through the photos (which nearly had me in tears).  It actually reminds me a bit of how I felt after the February 2011 Christchurch Earthquake.  That left me feeling sick (natural disaster – no one has any control).  This event makes me much angrier because there is someone responsible.  Someone who had malicious intent to harm as many people as possible.  And event such as a marathon should be positive – celebration of human physical and mental endurance.  And all the people running for charity – it was clearly a major charity event.  Maybe that is what made me so upset looking at the photos of the aftermath and there were people with shirts emblazoned with slogans like “Project Hope”.

Need I say more?

Actually I do.  D reminded me of course that there are parts of the world where bombings like this are a daily occurrence.  Where civilian casualties are much higher.  My heart aches for all the people who are suffering.  But an attack in the US like this at an event such as a marathon is much more shocking to many of us than an attack in a war zone.  I guess that is the major difference.

So here’s to Boston.  Now we just have to wait until the FBI and police are able to determine who caused this terrible act, and hold them responsible for their crime.

Leave a Reply

