A second dose of Dunedin Street Style

So this week, my friend Scott and I undertook our second session at documenting Dunedin/Otago Uni Street Style. The first time was a bit of an experiment, just to see how it would go. It turned out to be quite fun and (I think) reasonably well received. So here is yet another dose!

I have really been surprised by this little project. I feel like I have learned so much from talking specifically about fashion with the random well dressed people that we’ve stopped. It’s really quite amazing. I will share what I’ve learned at the end of the post (so keep reading onwards!).  Another huge thanks to Scott MacShane for his amazing photo skills!  And of course, thanks to those people who took a few minutes out of their day to talk fashion with us!

As Scott and I are getting more comfortable stopping passers-by on the street, we are also getting much more discerning in who we stop. We don’t stop just anyone – although there is a lot of “typical” uni fashion that we could be documenting. But t-shirts and trainers aren’t what you stopped by to see, are they? We aren’t looking for high fashion or anything, just well presented outfits, outfits that have clearly had some thought and consideration put into them.

The questions that we asked this time included things like fave places to shop and fashion inspiration.  I also wanted to know everyone’s personal fashion faux pas.  I, myself, am hating the denim-on-denim look that seems to be popping up.

The first person we stopped was Hillary.  Her bright pink jumper was incredibly striking.  Although it’s not a colour I would ever wear myself, it looked fantastic on Hillary and complimented her dark hair.  The jumper itself was from K-mart (the place to go for Neon colours these days), the leather skirt was from Wild Pair and the boots were from TopShop.  Her fave places to shop included the op-shop Tofts on Princes street here in Dunners, where everything is $2 (yes,  I will definitely need to make a trip there after the shopping ban!), although she also likes shopping online at stores like ASOS.  The greatest fashion faux pas according to Hillary was puffer jackets being worn inappropriately (e.g. when it’s not really cold outside), and the baddy ghost shirt being worn by nearly everyone (see below). When asked about fashion influences, she said she liked the style on howtwolive which is a blog I had never heard about but must say is very cool.

Baddy Ghost shirt

Hillary

Hillary

The next person we stopped was Elsie who was wearing a fabulous and eye-catching skirt that she bought on trademe for $8 (score and high-five from me). Her glasses were from Glassons, the top is from JJ’s (and old! LOL), and the shoes were also from trademe – a friend had bought them but they didn’t fit, so she passed them on to Elsie. When asked about fashion influences, she said she just liked clothes that are pretty but also occasionally checked out tumblr, and that her mum also had great style. Her fave places to shop included op-shops like butterflies (Dunedin), and Most Wanted Vintage for more upmarket vintage pieces. Elsie’s opinion of the worst fashion faux pas was black jeans, a t-shirt and a puffer jacket (what I would classify as the Dunedin uni student go-to outfit).

Elsie

Elsie

 

Close-up of the fabulous printed skirt

Close-up of the fabulous printed skirt

We then stopped Hannah who was wearing some amazing floral trousers from Forever New (which has a student discount dear readers!), a blouse was from Dotti and a bag from Glassons. Her ring and bracelet were both Karen Walker. I must also add that Scott and I both thought Hannah had fantastic hair. She follows Isaac Likes, bust mostly shops at stores like Forever New and Dotti. She has just started venturing into the world of online shopping but says previously she has been reluctant because she likes to try things on. We asked her what the best outfit for a first date was, and she said probably trousers or jeans and a nice top, maybe a dress if it’s not too “dressy”. And the biggest fashion faux pas are ill-fitting garments, and also short shorts paired with puffer jackets.

Hannah

Hannah

Adorable Karen Walker ring

Adorable Karen Walker ring

Olivia was the next person we stopped. Scott and I both loved her hat, which she admitted was rather expensive as it was from a boutique shop, but it was the type of hat she had been on the lookout for quite a long time. Her sunnies were her Dad’s (very retro), and her dress from Glassons. Scott and I especially loved how Olivia accessorized her outfit! She loves autumn colours, “dirty” gold, boutiques and art deco. When asked where she does most of her shopping, she admitted that she wished she was alternative (e.g. thrift stores) but mostly shopped at places like Glassons. She elaborated with “if you like something, just wear it”, and wasn’t a fan of label-bashers. [Well said!] When asked about fashion faux pas, Olivia doesn’t like jeans and sneakers (e.g. running/gym shoes). [Here is where I admit that I have been guilty of that one many many times. I’m from MN, and on the weekend, sometimes I just can’t help myself. I wear the flared jeans and the sneakers because they are comfortable. I know – I’m weak! So weak!]

Olivia

Olivia

Rocking the hat

Rocking the hat

The last person we stopped was Hillary, who was wearing a really excellent combination of muted/natural colours. Her unique bone necklace was a gift, and the top was from trademe, and the skirt from Void (one of Dunedin’s more fashionable, hip stores FYI), with the sunglasses from cotton on and the bag from Trent’s Leather (another Dunedin shop). She likes clothes that are comfortable, and does a lot of her shopping on trademe and 2nd hand stores like Paper Bag Princess. Her most loathed fashion faux pas was boys with rat tail haircuts. And the item she would most like to add to her wardrobe this autumn are some badass boots.

Hillary

Hillary

The striking bone necklace

The striking bone necklace

To sum up what I have learned in the latest round:

    1. A great bag is really important, and can in some ways, mask a sub-par outfit.  I don’t think I have truly given bags their credibility they deserve until today (Even Hannibal Lector was onto it “You know what you look like to me, with your good bag and your cheap shoes?”).  I need to invest in a good bag. I haven’t previously but, I really really need to now.
    2. Shoes are the easiest way to stuff up an outfit.
    3. Accessories are vital.  They are the difference between just throwing on a dress and actually creating an outfit.  They complete a look.
    4. I may not always look fabulous, but at least I’m not wearing a puffer jacket!

Also, if you want to check out some very cool Japanese Street Style, check out this link (thanks to Scott for putting me onto it!).

5 thoughts on “A second dose of Dunedin Street Style

  1. Sneakers with flared jeans…sigh. Guilty on occasion. I love a good bag as well, but I find myself getting super lazy and I hate having to transfer everything from bag to bag to match my look. Since my style ranges from hippie chic to “cutesy” to classic, unfortunately one bag does not fit all here.

    • I agree that transferring bags is a pain! I mean, I have an assortment but generally use the same brown handbag 99% of the time… But I’m beginning to think one large neutral coloured high quality satchel may fit nearly all! : D

  2. I adore Hillary’s outfit! It’s so simple, but it has these interesting little twists like the subtle polka dot print, the hilarious necklace and the sneakers. Very cool! ❤

    I look forward to seeing more of these! I've always wanted to do this sort of thing. Maybe I'll try during the summer when the people watching around town is at its peak. 😀

    • Yes I loved that one too! The whole look is just perfectly put together!

      I would love to see your take on street style! Doing street style photos is quite the thing here in NZ (There are several blogs dedicated to street style http://www.eyeseyeseyeseyes.com/ and http://streetandcityphotos.blogspot.co.nz are both quite good). Like I said above – it’s been really fun, inspirational and has helped me think quite critically about what I’ve been wearing, how I put my outfits together, and given me ideas for items that I should try to add to my wardrobe!

Leave a Reply

