Things you should have done by age 30

I saw this link recently on Facebook – posted by a friend. With my 30th less than 2 weeks away, I thought I would share with you how many I have actually achieved!

1. Jump off something.
Yes – cliff jumping in Minnesota with the nieces and nephews. Also jumping off a bridge over the crow wing rivers (also in MN).

2. See one of the Seven Wonders of the World.
Umm.. I’ve been to Rotorua which houses the 8th natural wonder of the world (Pink and White Terraces – google it) at the bottom of a lake. Oh, and I’ve been to the Grand Canyon AND the Golden Gate bridge. Both which were on Huffpost’s list. That’s a yes.

3. Party in Las Vegas.
No. Apparently I should.

4. Take a vacation that isn’t Spring Break.
Yes. Too many to list.

5. Attend at least one large celebration.
Does the wild foods festival count? What about the St. Paul winter carnival?

6. Hit up a nude beach.
No. NZ has at least 1 or 2 so this is a bit of a fail on my part.

7. Spend several days with only what will fit in a backpack.
Yes yes yes yes yes.

8. Swim in the ocean.
Yes yes yes yes yes.

9. Sleep somewhere where you have to light a fire to stay warm.
Yes yes yes yes yes.

10. Do some sort of adrenaline sport.
Yes. River rafting several times. But mostly, rafted the largest commercially rafted waterfall in the world (Kaituna in Rotorua), yo! I will skydive before I leave NZ.

11. Hit up one of the Caribbean islands.
No. But I’ve been to Pacific Islands (Hawaii, New Zealand, Fiji)

12. Take one ultimate road trip.
Yes. Canada, New Zealand, New Zealand

13. Go somewhere alone.
Yes. England, New Zealand (both times I moved there to live for 3+ months so do I get extra points?)

14. Take a train somewhere.
Yes. England. New Zealand.

15. Go to a music festival.
No. I don’t think Feastock counts. Lollapalooza someday though!

16. Have one iconic Americana experience.
Ummmm? Do I get negative points for not even seeing Mt. Rushmore? Although I would argue that Yellowstone National Park is pretty iconic. Also Washington D.C. Disneyworld? Been there done that. I’m going to go with Yes on this one.

17. Go to at least one of the Smithsonian museums.
Yes. But I want to go back and take D.

18. Summit a mountain.
Yes. Tramping New Zealand. Mountains galore to summit.

19. Be able to name your top five dream vacations.
Does everywhere count? Ah ok… England. Europe. Peru. Tanzania (Mt. Kilamanjaro). Pacific Coast Track (does that really count as a vacation? Probably not).

20. See a game at a classic ballpark.
No. However, I’m pleased I’ve been to MN’s new park. And the Metrodome is so old it’s nearly a classic. But somehow I don’t think that counts.

21. Visit a neighbor to our north or south.
Canada! Yeah!

22. Do something so adventurous that it requires a doctor’s visit.
Does NZ count? I had to have a health check as a visa requirement so I’m going to go with yes.

23. Save pennies to go somewhere you really want to go.
Like every trip back to MN for the last 3-4 years? New Zealand the first time?

24. Go to New York City.
Yes.

25. Sleep under the stars.
Yes yes yes yes yes yes yes and yes.

26. Eat an iconic city meal.
Bangers and Mash in the UK. Fish and Chips in NZ. Kangaroo in Australia. Crocodile in Australia. Cheesecake in NY?

27. Know all of the best places to take tourists in your home city.
Yes.

28. Have one close encounter with a wild animal.
Hmm.. I’m going to go with yes.

29. Do something you can’t tell your parents about.
Haha. Yes yes yes yes and yes. C’mon, I’m not 30 yet!

30. Know a dance well enough that you could keep up with the locals.
Um – does the chicken dance at a MN wedding count? I’m going to go with yes. Oh, I can also swing dance – er, sort of.

* * *

So I’m only missing six. I’d say that isn’t too bad. How did you do? What was missing from this list that you think should have been included?

I think “something that you thought was truly terrifying or challenging” and “something epic” should have also been included… but that is just me.

One thought on “Things you should have done by age 30

  1. Good Lord, does this mean I have to think up a “40 by 40” list??? YIKES!!

    Hahaha.

    LOVE your list. It’s always kind of fun to take advantage of a landmark birthday to look at your life in a bigger picture, assess what dreams or goals you may have, what you can do to take steps toward reaching those goals, maybe integrate some adventure into your life or broaden your horizons. (Obviously you don’t have any trouble doing those things!!!) But oftentimes we’re so caught up in the day-to-day tasks of life that we forget to step back and look at the bigger picture.

Leave a Reply

