An attempt at different photos…

Wow, Tuesday is nearly over. Actually, make that March. It’s officially 101 days until I hand in my thesis. Yes, this is starting to get seriously scary. As in, late nights officially start now.

This probably means my posts will start to get a little bit thinner on the ground, however I still aim to post regularly.

A quick sum up of Monday’s outfit… I was inspired to try and take some different looking photos after reading this post by another fabulous blogger. So D and I attempted to do some more active looking shots – which I think we can say was pretty much a complete failure… LOL. Actually, yes I was laughing when these were taken. Maybe a different approach next time?

jacket: modcloth, jeans: 7 for all mankind

jacket: modcloth, jeans: 7 for all mankind

I’m starting to bust out the more autumny looking items as the weather has definitely taken a turn for the chillier here in Dunners (or, as we like to call it – back to normal). This lovely sweater is from a very funky indie shop in Melbourne, Kinki Gerlinki. Ok, their website is a bit average, but their shops are way cool and filled with vintage inspired brightly coloured awesomeness. I am pretty stoked to be heading to Melbourne in May for a conference (ok, the conference is actually in Geelong, but D and I will spend 5 or 6 days visiting our friends in Melbourne while I’m there, and D will catch up with his Dad – Sr. D – in Melbourne while I’m conferencing). You can bet I will be stopping in Kinki Gerlinki while I’m there. Actually, hopefully I will get a nice long while to peruse some of Melbourne’s amazing shops!

jersey: kinki gerlinki, camisole: my ex-work, jeans: 7 for all mankind

jersey: kinki gerlinki, camisole: my ex-work, jeans: 7 for all mankind

Speaking of shopping – I must confess a frugal february/misery march failure. I bought a pair of jeans. I have a small craft/fashion project that I would like to post about which required a pair of jeans. So I bought some cheap ones on trademe for $4.01. I know it’s naughty but I am rationalizing it as a bit of a craft project so it’s not totally unwholesome.

However, I have been sorely tempted as of late by a variety of items. I am still DYING dying dying for a pair of black flat ankle boots. Considering they are pretty much everywhere – for some reason I can’t find any I like except these ones:

Showpony Boots

No they are not the cheapest but they are black and brown and flat and gorgeous. Can I justify them? I just don’t see myself wearing the studded/spikey things that seem to be trending at the moment.

Also, the Modcloth Stylish Surprise is on again and boy am I tempted!! Especially as they are nearly sold out already ($15 for a mystery item, for those of you who aren’t familiar with the promo). Last time I wasn’t 100% amazed by my items – one of which is currently a blog post in the works – but I also can’t pass up a bargain and maybe, just maybe this time I will get something truly spectacular. But that wouldn’t be very frugal, would it? *Sigh* I need to finish my PhD and get a job so I can afford the occasional beautiful clothing, pair of shoes or accessory of choice without agony and guilt.

One thought on “An attempt at different photos…

  1. I love that contrast jacket! I’ve seen a few like it and wondered if I could pull it off. I’m still not sure. I’m just now getting into the whole faux leather jacket thing. You’re definitely rockin’ it!

    And oh my lord, those boots! Make any excuse you need to, my dear. Haha. They are wonderful. I’d love to see how you style them.

    I took the Stylish Surprise plunge this year, as well! I’m a first timer and I realize it’s a bit like gambling. Lots of risk and very little chance of cashing in for great rewards. I guess that’s part of the fun. Pleasure and pain all rolled into one. Let me know what you end up getting and I’ll do the same. šŸ˜€

    – Anna

Leave a Reply

