What I wore Monday: Metallic

I’ve been dying to wear this jacket for ages. I got it free from a friend who was having a big wardrobe clean-out before she moved overseas. It seems as though some trends from the 80s and 90s are rearing their ugly heads these days in Dunedin (seriously we are talking denim, chambray and midriff baring tops that tie off at the bottom). I’m not a huge fan in general of these trends, but I do love the feeling evoked by this jacket (and yes, it had shoulder pads but they have since been ripped out).

jacket: free from a friend (who probably originally got at an op-shop), top: my ex-work, necklace: modcloth, jeans: seven for all mankind jeggings, shoes: jeffrey campbell x free people

jacket: free from a friend (who probably originally got at an op-shop), top: my ex-work, necklace: modcloth, jeans: seven for all mankind jeggings, shoes: jeffrey campbell x free people

Feelin' the 90s

Feelin’ the 90s

I paired it up with a gold necklace and my much hunted for black and brown brogues. However, I would have loved to pair it over a metallic gold top but for some reason, I don’t appear to own one! This will surely have to be rectified. However, the shopping ban continues so instead I will share some of my fave metallic gold finds from the glorious internet.

Trademe:

Size M-L.  $5 or $12 buy now.  Ends Mar 8

Size M-L. $5 or $12 buy now. Ends Mar 8

Sequin Clutch.  $1 as of posting or $20 buy now.  Ends Mar 10

Sequin Clutch. $1 as of posting or $20 buy now. Ends Mar 10

Size 10.  $5.  Auction ends Mar 4

Size 10. $5. Auction ends Mar 4

Shameless self-promotion of Jeffrey Campbell wedges I'm trying to sell.  Size 8.5  $55 or $60 buy now.  Ends Mar 6.

Shameless self-promotion of Jeffrey Campbell wedges I’m trying to sell. Size 8.5 $55 or $60 buy now. Ends Mar 6.

ASOS:

Sequin dress: $178 NZD (down from $751?!!!)

Modcloth:

Golden Garden Top $41 USD

Etsy:

Size S Vintage Metallic Sweater $22 USD

Metallic Houndstooth top size S $48.95 USD (I agree the price is outrageous but the top is honestly amazing).

Vintage 80s metallic heels. Size 8.5 $8 USD

How are you feeling about metallics? Can they be worn during the day, or are they only for a night out? Also, do you enjoy posts about my fave fashion finds on the internet? In particular, please let me know if you buy something I’ve pointed out on trademe. I do this just for fun, but would still love feedback! Happy bargain hunting!

2 thoughts on “What I wore Monday: Metallic

  1. I love the blazer and those shoes are fantastic! I wish I could afford Jeffrey Campbell. Haha. I’m workin’ on it. 😀 Thanks for visiting my blog, by the way! I’ll be sure to check out your latest posts now that I’ve found you. 😛

    – Anna

    • Thank you! I always see your outfit posts on the Modcloth Style Gallery and can’t believe I hadn’t checked out your blog before because your outfits are always fantastic!

Leave a Reply

