More awkward photos!

And it’s Tuesday. February is flying by at quite an alarming rate, I must say. And since the weather is still being typical and Dunedin-ish, I’ve gone back to typical Dunedin-ish clothing. Er, sort of.

As usual, I took my fashion cue from the weather. Since it can’t really make up its mind if it’s going to be cold and rainy (instead, just cool and overcast) I decided to wear my very strange cardigan that also can’t really make up its mind of what exactly it is. It is from Modcloth, from their “Stylish Surprise” promo back in Oct or Nov, I think. You pay $15 and choose your size and they send you whatever they feel like (aka, whatever they need to get rid of. I reckon they are probably buyer’s samples that didn’t make it onto the store. And since they don’t have photos, what better way to get rid of them? It’s really quite clever. And those of us who are cheap are quite happy to pay $15 for nearly anything from modcloth). I thought it would be fun (and assumed correctly I would receive something I might not otherwise choose myself) and took the risk of ordering two items. I received this very odd cardigan, and a very very pink strapless dress that I love apart from the colour. I really ought to have worn the dress on one of our super summery days… It is seriously barbie pink and would probably look amazing on a 16-21 year old. It is cotton though so I may be tempted to dye it a more appealing colour… We shall see. I digress!

Anyways, this cardigan is well – its long and sort of wintery looking, but it has short sleeves. I mean, seriously? If it’s cold enough to put on a cardigan, it’s cold enough to want your arms covered. Don’t even get me started on the weird pintucks in the front and how they make the cardigan hang. However, it does have some pretty embroidery and is certainly unique. I added the belt to give it a bit of shape.

The belt also warrants discussion as I picked up for $4 last month from Witchery. It was buy one get one 50% off (on already on sale items), and then I had a $10 voucher. Yes, the Witchery rewards program is really sweet. So are their sales. Let’s be completely honest though, I can’t afford any of their full priced merchandise. Which is sad because I covet their handbags like nobody’s business (I have 2 I’ve picked up on trademe for cheap). I can’t even justify their handbags when they’re on sale.

Anyways – on to the photos! I had to take them myself today, and I have a new-found respect for bloggers who regularly take their own photos. Much trickier than you would think (albeit, I do not own a tripod – which I’m certain would make it much easier).

IMG_5700 cr

Just hanging out on the steps of my flat…

 

The belt from the back is pretty sweet

The belt from the back is pretty sweet

Yes I look grumpy here but it was the only clear shot from the front. I’m modeling our notoriously famous family scowl.

top: my ex-work, cardi: modcloth (a stylish surprise), belt: witchery, necklace: gift (Gottahave on felt.co.nz), jeans: Seven for all mankind, shoes: Jeffrey Campbell (via Free People)

top: my ex-work, cardi: modcloth (a stylish surprise), belt: witchery, necklace: gift (Gottahave on felt.co.nz), jeans: Seven for all mankind, shoes: Jeffrey Campbell (via Free People)

Hope you are looking less grumpy than I do today!

One thought on “More awkward photos!

Leave a Reply

