New Zealand Budget style: Trademe auctions to watch

Eek the week is almost over and what have I achieved so far? A few figures. Ugh. Oh the art of creating the perfectly formatted figure.  Clear and concise and oh so nice…  *sigh*

So on to what I’m wearing today:

cardi: portmans, necklace: gift (feed my starving children), skirt: trademe, sandals: lovely people (via amazon.com)

cardi: portmans, necklace: gift (feed my starving children), skirt: trademe, sandals: lovely people (via amazon.com)

But what I really want to talk about today is the epiphany I had yesterday. About why my fashion blog is different from other fashion blogs. Trademe. Yes, I think my effective use of trademe is [partially] why I have so many clothes. Trademe is cheap. You can find some really cool stuff (if you know how, where and what to look for!). And there is new stuff every single day. What more can you want?!

Since I’m banned from shopping at the moment, I will shop for you (sorry to my non-NZ readers)! So here are a few of the items that I think are worth watching on trademe.  I have chosen a few different sizes to search and today have focused exclusively on skirts as I think this is one of the best categories to score some cheap items.

How do you get a skirt that fits?  If the listing is a brand you are familiar with – this always helps.  Alternatively, measure the waist of a couple of your own skirts that you love the way they fit.  Note if the fabric contains stretch or not and where the skirt sits on your waist.   Then file those measurements away somewhere (high waist – stretch, high waist – no stretch, hip – stretch, hip – no stretch).  If the listing doesn’t provide the measurements and you are in doubt – ASK!  I have all too frequently trusted the poster’s opinion of size only to have an item arrive and find that it doesn’t fit quite as perfectly as I had hoped.

Size 12.  $1.50  Ending Feb 10, 2013

Size 12. $1.50 Ending Feb 10, 2013

sz 8, $1.  Ending Feb 13.2012 [I would absolutely be bidding on this baby]

sz 8, $1. Ending Feb 13.2012 [I would absolutely be bidding on this baby, but I would not pair it with that top]

sz 8, $8, Ending Feb 13, 2013 [I would bid on this as well!  Really gutted I can't]

sz 8, $8, Ending Feb 13, 2013 [I would bid on this as well! Really gutted I can’t]

These are other auctions worth checking out:

http://www.trademe.co.nz/clothing/womenswear/skirts/size-10/auction-559703376.htm

http://www.trademe.co.nz/clothing/womenswear/skirts/size-8-under/auction-560393745.htm

http://www.trademe.co.nz/clothing/womenswear/skirts/size-8-under/auction-558382211.htm

http://www.trademe.co.nz/clothing/womenswear/skirts/size-10/auction-559667245.htm

http://www.trademe.co.nz/clothing/womenswear/skirts/size-12/auction-560164946.htm

Happy Bargain Hunting!

Leave a Reply

