The best day to be a post grad? Public holidays

I am pretty sure that I’ve posted this comic before, but this exactly sums up today:

copyright: PhD Comics

copyright: PhD Comics

Today is Waitangi day, NZ’s national day (equivalent to Independence day in the US). I won’t go into the details surrounding Waitangi day as you can easily google them. Regardless, it’s usually celebrated by bbqing or going to the beach.  Uni is closed and absolutely quiet today except for us few post grads attempting to get some work done (and taking advantage of getting a decent park!).

I am making some mean figures today. I have been working on them for days. I know it probably doesn’t sound all that terribly exciting, but how you present your data is quite confusing. It should be clear and easy to understand. I have a lot of data to try and get across and getting it to be all clear and look beautiful, as well as being a reasonable and manageable size figure is sometimes tricky. Stupid Excel. Did you know that your X-axis must be numbers on the scatter plot? I’ve worked around this by not displaying the numbers (I’ve just numbered 1-30 – which is the number of fabrics in my experiment, plus extra) and then created my own fabric name labels in a text box. A bit messier than I’d like but it looks how I wanted it to.

Anyways, I look a bit like a good little student today.  I haven’t worn the brown sleeveless top in ages…  I think it might get put in the “donate” bag now as I look at the photo it’s really not that cute.  This was the first time I’ve worn the skirt – it was “vintage”, although I am not entirely convinced it is but I bought it at the primo Dunedin vintage store for $5 last month when they had a massive Flood sale – so who cares?  It was cute and cheap!

top: my ex-work, sleeveless top: trademe, skirt: vintage, necklace: mollusk from CA

top: my ex-work, sleeveless top: trademe, skirt: vintage, necklace: mollusk from CA

good thing the sleeveless top has an interesting back because all I can see is the bottom of that darn zip poking out!!

good thing the sleeveless top has an interesting back because all I can see is the bottom of that darn zip poking out!!

Needs/must show off my awesome toes:  OPI Fresh Frog of Bel Air over OPI Mermaid's tears

Needs/must show off my awesome toes: OPI Fresh Frog of Bel Air over OPI Mermaid’s tears

Yesterday I went with a more casual look (I woke up and it was one of those days where I felt I just couldn’t be bothered trying to be cute). It must have been reasonably successful as both my boyfriend AND beautician commented on how good/cute it was. I do like the black and white cardi with the minty green camisole (let’s not forget mint is such a hot colour right now. Might as well make the most of it, right?).  It’s another super budget outfit as well, since the cardi was free and the jeans I bought about 4 years ago on trademe for $15.  The camisole is ex-work so set me back about $20, so the most expensive item was my sandals!  And considering how often they’ve been featured as of late, I think I’ve had my money’s worth.

top: my ex-work, cardigan: free from a friend who was moving away, cropped jeans: tradme

top: my ex-work, cardigan: free from a friend who was moving away, cropped jeans: tradme

 

Leave a Reply

