What I’ve been reading lately…

Just a quick post to recommend a few of the books I’ve been reading as of late.  Last night I finally finished A Memory of Light.  Yeah I’m a wheel of time follower.  I’ve been reading them since I was 16…  in other words I’ve been waiting 13 years for this book.  I was pleased I was able to get it out from the library so quickly after it was released.  Yes, the Dunedin public library is just that good.

In addition to finally finishing up the story of Rand, Perrin, Mat, Elayne, Egwene, Nynaeve, Lan, Avhienda, etc.  I’ve read a few other books as late as well.  D reads heaps, and then passes along the ones he thinks I’ll like.  Let’s just say he has then regretted the fact I am completely absorbed in a book!!  The most recent have been a fantasy trilogy (the third is due out in about a week) and a sci-fi series.  So here they are:

The first are the fantasy trilogy by Peter V. Brett.

  • The Painted Man
  • The Desert Spear
  • The Daylight War (Due out Feb 12)

The second is the sci-fi series by John Scalzi.

  • Old Man’s War (nominated for the Hugo Award for best novel in 2006 and in 2011 was optioned by Paramount Pictures – so it really is good, not just good to people who like Sci-fi)
  • The Ghost Brigades (need to read this one so reading them slightly out of order)
  • The Sagan Diary (also need to read this one)
  • The Lost Colony (I just finished this one)
  • Zoe’s Tale (need to read)
  • The Human Division (Due out May 14)

Read any amazing books lately?  Who is your favourite Wheel of Time Character (or did you find it too painful to keep going after say book 6?  In my humble opinion [although D agrees with me] Books 1-4 are amazing, 5 & 6 are ok, 7-11 are painfully slow, then 12-14 are awesome again)?

2 thoughts on “What I’ve been reading lately…

  1. I recently read “The Round House” by Minnesota author Louise Erdrich. It’s a bit dark but the writing and characters are fabulous–it’s a coming-of-age story about a young Native American boy when his family has a crisis. Leon & Louise was also very good, it takes place during WWII.

    Out of your list above, which ones are your favorites? If you had to pick one, where should I start?

    • Ooh I love Louise Erdrich! The Round House is her new novel, isn’t it? I will add it to my to read list! I think my favourite book of hers is her first – “Love Medicine”. I suspect all her novels are quite dark. “The last report on the miracles at little no horse” was not so dark but very very strange.

      As to which book to start with – it depends on if you’d rather read sci-fi or fantasy. I think you’d probably enjoy “Old Man’s War” the best – but I’m just guessing. I found both “The Painted Man” and “Old man’s war” very engaging, quick reads. Of course in both cases the sequel is never as good (I’m currently reading “The Lost Colony” and it’s not as good as “Old man’s war” in my opinion, nor was “The Desert Spear” as enjoyable as “The Painted Man” but there you go!). Of course, the first book in the Wheel of Time series is fantastic as well (“The Eye of the World”) – but that series is 14 books long and quite a commitment – also very LOTR-esque.

Leave a Reply

