Fabulous Frock Friday

TGIF!  I know, being a grad student is hard work.  I mean, no regular hours to keep, you’re really only responsible to yourself, and you can wear whatever you want.  This week we had “writer’s week” in the dept, which also included someone bringing a delicious baked concoction in every day for morning tea.  Yes, being a grad student is akin to being a slave…

Although, because there are no set hours, I feel as though I need to spend all of my time working on my thesis, including most weekends…  So even though tomorrow is Saturday – it’s not really a day off for me.  Grad school certainly has it’s perks.

Yes, it’s another modcloth dress Friday.  This was one I bought in the black Friday sale.  I’ve paired it with a vintage leather belt I picked up for $5.  And clearly I need another pair of brown sandals because I think I’ve been wearing these ones in 90% of my photos as of late.  I must have a penchant for flat brown shoes…

dress: modcloth, belt: vintage, shoes: hush puppies

dress: modcloth, belt: vintage, shoes: hush puppies

I might also have a penchant for printed dresses from Modcloth at the moment. Just a teensy weensy one.

The greatest thing about Modcloth printed dresses is that they are so easy to wear! And they look fabulous. I always get compliments on mine. So if you’re thinking about ordering a dress for Modcloth, here are the tips to make it go easier. Order a dress with an elastic waist. The elastic waist dresses are extremely forgiving in terms of size. Some reviewers complain these dresses make them look boxy but I think they look fabulous – but you must pair them with a belt. Also, check the length of the dress under the “Measurements” tab. I personally do not order any that are shorter than 34″ (that is the length of the dress above). Seriously, if the dress is shorter (and you are my height or taller), you will definitely need tights.

Speaking of tights, pair any of these babies with some tights, boots, cardigan, belt and you are ready to go! Honestly, there is pretty much no easier way of looking fabulous (with minimal effort) than one of these dresses.

So here are some (seriously, just a few) of the dresses I am coveting at the moment:

Know all the triangles dress

Know all the triangles dress

A dab of darling dress

A dab of darling dress

Taos party dress

Taos party dress

Billow and behold dress

Billow and behold dress

Aerial together dress

aerial together dress

One thought on “Fabulous Frock Friday

  1. Oh, I love those dresses! Especially the green ones-that is my favorite color right now for some reason. I love the dress you’re wearing too! And good luck with studying 🙂

Leave a Reply

