What I wore: Monday and Tuesday

If you’re reading this from somewhere “up north” (meaning USA or maybe England?), you’ll probably not sympathize with my complaining how cold it is today (14.4°C right now, according to metservice.  That’s a whopping 57°F).  Yet it’s summer, so I am compelled to wear my summer clothes (I really truly don’t know why I bother.  Honestly, it’s usually around 10-16°C here year round, I’m sure.  Why even have seasonal clothing?!).

Regardless, I’m doing my best to wear summer things despite a distinct lack of sunshine today (I’m secretly dying to wear some of the vintage skirts I picked up for cheap recently.  Of course, they’re all wool.  Rather non-summery.  I shouldn’t complain too much though, as Dunedin is pretty non-summery most of the year).

On to yesterday’s look:

necklace: Feed my starving children, top: my ex-work, cardigan: my ex-work, skirt: shopruche.com, sandals: merrel

necklace: Feed my starving children, top: my ex-work, cardigan: my ex-work, skirt: shopruche.com, sandals: merrel

Yes, if you are an American reading this you’ll probably be thinking that looks very, er, autumney. Candy corn actually comes to mind for me – fortunately most kiwis don’t have that connotation so I’m really not too worried. Another Minnesotan here said I look ready to go back to school. LOL!

Anyways, I was very keen to wear my new necklace that my friend Emily sent me for Xmas!  It’s from Feed my starving children, which is a non-profit that one of my sisters does a bunch of volunteer work with as well!  Ethical fashion – how gorgeous is that?  The necklace has amazing colours – but I decided to pair it with gold.  And I haven’t worn my “candy corn” skirt in quite a while (as an aside – I wore this skirt to my high school ten year reunion last year).  I really do like this skirt.  It has both black and brown, and gold (which of course, is very nearly my fave colour at the moment).  Regardless, it looks fab with the necklace – which I am very keen to get lots of wear out of!

necklace: feed my starving children

necklace: feed my starving children

Now for today’s outfit:

top: my ex-work, necklace: boyfriend found on the ground, belt: witchery, skirt: max, shoes: hush puppies

top: my ex-work, necklace: boyfriend found on the ground, belt: witchery, skirt: max, shoes: hush puppies

I really wanted to wear these cool houndstooth print culottes (it felt like a culotte sort of day), but the zipper broke when I put them on. Alas, the perils of vintage clothing and zippers that occasionally wear out. Yes, I promise I will replace the zipper and wear them asap as they are houndstooth print culottes.

So instead I decided to wear a super summery skirt instead (yay! scalloped hem!). I am also wearing this super sweet scissors necklace that you can’t really see in the photo that D found on the ground outside our house last year and I’ve never worn. But I’m not above wearing things found on the ground, so there you go! Also, I am loving this patent green Witchery belt. I stalked it for weeks at Witchery until it finally went on clearance.

We took the photo in the Central library as the photos we took this morning were not pretty (of me). Also, it looked as though it was going to rain today so hence the inside pics.  Admittedly it’s a bit staged as I rarely use the Central library these days, I’m more of a Science Library user.  Also, I have 99% of my references so I’m not really looking for papers or books these days, but you still get the idea.  Actually, I’m quite keen to take more photos around Uni as we are the 12th most beautiful campus in the world. And I am PhD Chic.

Last but not least, there is only 1 more day to go for the Modcloth Year of Dresses contest and I would appreciate if you could please vote for me!

2 thoughts on “What I wore: Monday and Tuesday

  1. Ooh — yay you wore the necklace AND blogged about it! 😀 I like both of those skirts and laughed at “necklace: boyfriend found on ground.”

Leave a Reply

