I don’t like purple, and I don’t like pink, but I love Barbie

Purple and pink make me want to throw up a little in my mouth. But Magenta is a sweet colour. (Actually, I lie a little bit – I do have some purple items but they’re more plum, or a blue-y violet. I loathe pastel purple.)

So yes, today I’m wearing Magenta. I bought this jumper about a year and a half ago – last time I was in Melbourne, in fact, at Kinky Gerlinki. It was my big shopping splurge for the entire trip (Kinky Gerlinki ain’t cheap!  Especially when you are converting NZ dollars to Aussie dollars!  But hey, I was on vacation in Melbourne which might be Australian shopping heaven). I actually own the same one in forest green but I think I prefer the magenta one. I ADORE this jumper. The boat neckline, boxy shape with bolero sleeves, the buttons down the back (no, I’m not wearing it backwards!) and the itty bitty front pockets… It is really superb. I love to pair it with pencil skirts.

I know what you’re thinking – what is she doing pairing a heavy jumper with a light summery skirt, bare legs and sandals? I know. Perhaps it’s a bit of a faux pas, but it’s Dunedin. It’s sunny and if there is no wind, definitely warm enough for a skirt with bare legs. But if the wind comes up or the sun goes away – Brrrr! You need a jumper.

I’m quite digging this bright combo. I can already foresee wearing it in winter paired with brown tights and boots.

jumper: Kinky Gerlinki, skirt: trademe, sunnies: witchery, sandals: hush puppies

jumper: Kinky Gerlinki, skirt: trademe, sunnies: witchery, sandals: hush puppies

Here you can see the front - I've also paired it with a modcloth necklace

Here you can see the front – I’ve also paired it with a modcloth necklace

I was hesitant about wearing this skirt today as it is short, and in Dunedin it gets windy. However, it’s summer (or at least, it will be soon!). Listen, I’m still in my 20s (although D told me this morning his flatmate/friend thought I was over 30!! *gasp* I’m not too sensitive about my age – okay maybe a teeny tiny bit but that is only because many of my close friends, including D, are a couple of years younger than I am – but I am mildly insulted) and I have nice legs. I won’t be able to pull this off much longer so I better enjoy it while I can!

Today’s bonus – another outfit! Went out to dinner last night for a friend’s 27th, so it being dinner, it was a good excuse to wear some silly (but gorgeous and I had been dying to wear them for the first time) shoes.  Yes, these are my first pair of Jeffrey Campbells (no, they were not cheap).  I’m generally not a huge Jeffrey Campbell fan – often the shoes are much sillier than these, but I couldn’t resist the vintage looking map print (and in my colours!).

top: my ex-work, jumper: Witchery, belt: Witchery, skirt: trademe, necklace: Modcloth, shoes: Jeffrey Campbell (via Modcloth)

top: my ex-work, jumper: Witchery, belt: Witchery, skirt: trademe, necklace: Modcloth, shoes: Jeffrey Campbell (via Modcloth)

Also, I finally finished off my youngest niece’s birthday present. Five handmade Barbie outfits for a 5 year old. I have given the same gift to all of my other nieces over the years when they turned 5. Ok, they are perhaps not perfect, and the photo was very quickly snapped before they were posted off, but I still think they are cute and a pretty good effort (who knew a PhD student still had time to be creative and crafty?!). I must have matured and become a bit more feminist over the years because I elected not to do a Wedding Dress this time, as reinforcing female stereotypes is not something I want to do to my nieces. (So we’ve got the very Disney-princess-esq dress instead… Hmm…) I did, however, this time include a trouser outfit for a change. Between her and her sister, they should have quite a sweet vintage-y looking wardrobe for Barbie (her sister did get a wedding dress a few years ago so don’t worry! They’ve got at least one). However, I also accept that Barbie isn’t as cool as she once was (honestly, she’s gotten a little skanky over the years! Or I’m getting old…) and American Girl Dolls are now the supreme doll (which were WAY too expensive for me to have one back in the day, I might add!). But oh well, I can be the old un-cool spinster aunt who is stuck in a time-warp if I want to be.

Barbie clothes made for my niece.  She just turned 5.

Barbie clothes made for my niece. She just turned 5.

Leave a Reply

