Your pet… could be president?

Howie Staples, the cat that lives at The Critic (Otago student newspaper) office

Okay maybe not.  But a Cat in Virginia is running for Senate.  Yes I agree this is weird, but stranger yet is the fact that pets have previously held offices in the US!  Sunol, CA had a dog for a mayor for 13 years!  As in multiple terms (this was from 1981-1994).

I’m not sure what I think about the idea of animals holding office.  Surely I would prefer a cat or dog to say, Sarah Palin or Michelle Bachman.  And if it excites and interests people about elections, then this is a good thing.  Admittedly I have become slightly apathetic myself.  I didn’t vote in 2010 (however, I did in 2008 by absentee, thank-you-very-much).  I suppose part of this is due to living overseas – sometimes it is hard to remain connected and tuned in to local and state politics.  I will definitely vote again this year though.

So would YOU vote for Hank the cat?  Sadly his website http://www.hankforsenate.com/ seems to be overloaded atm.  And you can even help him campaign here.

Leave a Reply

