You have no excuse for being board, if you own a lot of board games

It's your move (taken from freakanomics.com)

This past weekend bf and I headed over to a friend’s place for a bbq.  Upon arrival, there was no bbq, but they had just started playing an interesting game which I had never seen before (I know!  And disproving my theory that kiwis never play games.  Okay, I’ve been here 4 years and I’ve played 3 games).  Here, when I thought that I had played most of the awesome games out there, a new one pops up!  Okay, so Settlers of Catan has been around for a while.  In fact, maybe you’ve already played or heard of it (sometimes I am a little behind the times).  In fact, it’s the number one selling board game strategy game on Amazon.  I can’t believe I’ve never heard of/seen it until now!

Witnessing the playing of Settlers has inspired me to add some games to our house!  I own almost no games here in NZ.  How sad is that, for someone who professes such a love of games?  So I’m lurking on trademe to try acquire the following for cheap(ish):

  • New Zealand Monopoly
  • Yahtzee
  • Cranium
  • Balderdash or Absolute Balderdash
  • Mastermind
  • Bohnanza
  • Settlers of Catan
  • Life
  • Carcassonne (again, never played but is apparently a very fun strategy game)
  • Phase 10

(Okay, so pretty much every single game I come across…)  Of course, certain games do not appear to be available in NZ, including:

  • Pit
  • Loaded Questions
  • Apples to Apples
  • Guillotine (No, I’ve never played but it’s highly recommended on amazon)
  • iMAgiNiff
  • Wizard

Am I missing any games?  I guess I could get scrabble, checkers and chess (these are all classics, of course) but do people actually play these?  I want the fun games!  It’s only a matter of time before our house is the awesome fun game party house.  In fact, I can’t believe that with our lack of TV that I didn’t realize the need to invest in games sooner! Especially since we are going into Winter, and will need some serious at home no-need-to-leave-the-house-ever entertainment.

Thanks to amazon, I’ve also decided that I would enjoy Malarcky, since Balderdash is like my favourite game ever.  But I think I’ve covered most of the awesome games out there…

 

 

3 thoughts on “You have no excuse for being board, if you own a lot of board games

  1. I don’t know that I’m that crazy about Pictionary… I bought Yahtzee for $5 though – brand new never used! Now, to try it out… : D

Leave a Reply

