December resolutions

So I’m not really one for making resolutions (and it is almost January), but lately, I’ve been having all these ideas of *things I’m going to do*.  I know.  It’s a bit crazy really.  I think I’m scaring BF with some of these ideas.  Many of which involve me taking over our dining room table.  I have been crafting a fair amount lately (not as much as I want, but really, can you ever craft as much as you really truly want???).  No, our amazing curtains are not finished yet.  I have told myself that curtains need to be finished before the next major crafting project starts (I’m 2/3 done with our bedroom), which is, re-vamping my etsy store.

Yep, I’ve got grand new product ideas.  I’m going to spend the next few months making up a heap of stuff, photographing it to look awesome, and launching a newish etsy shop (well, same name but hopefully new and improved with excellent logo designed by my dear friend Em). It’s going to be excellent.  Truly.  Especially as I was really gutted I put a lot of effort into entering and winning that Etsy competition orignally posted here in order to get an awesome shop critique.  The OP promised anyone who entered her contest would get a critique.  Well, guess what?  She just stopped giving them right before mine.  I was supposed to be next!  I even won the damn contest.  I didn’t even care about the prize – I just wanted the shop critique (as they were really good and I really do need one)…  *gutted*  Obviously I’ve given up on said shop critique.  I’m taking matters into my own hands – new, better products, and new, better photos.  It’s going to be awesome.

Maybe it’s the nice weather that is spurning all this energy?  Or I just can’t properly focus on any one thing at a time???  But I’ve also decided to get in 5 workouts a week instead of 3.  Yep.  Summer’s coming on.  And I like food.  Oh, and I’ve decided to start reading more classics.  I did just read all of the “How to train your dragon books”.  Yeah, they’re written for beginner readers or like 8-10 year olds.  They were really cute though, and How to train your dragon was the cutest movie I’ve seen in a long time.  If I had kids, we would totally be reading the dragon books together (and watching the movie repeatedly).  Instead, I had to buy this.  It actually looks quite difficult.  Again…  too many projects!  But it’s going to be SO cute when it’s finished.  I’ve also been watching a lot of BBC, etc.  So I decided that I need to start reading these classic tales, not just watching them.  I’ve just started Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell.  Also on the list is:

  • The Count of Monte Cristo
  • Brideshead Revisted
  • Rebecca
  • Persuasion
  • The Remains of the Day
  • Possession
  • Madame Bovary
  • The Faraway Tree Collection
  • Heart of Darkness
  • The Five People You Meet in Heaven
  • The Little Prince
  • The Three Musketeers
  • Swallows and Amazons

Okay, admittedly I know little about some of these books aside from being recommended by BBC (and Brideshead Revisted is extremely long).  But yay for public libraries!  I intend to spend many a weekend day laying on the beach reading a book this summer.

Speaking of books.  I went in to buy the new Robert Jordan book last week (yes, that’s a clue at how nerdy I really am) and ended up coming home with 1001 cupcakes, cookies and other tempting treats instead.  I think I was hungry at the time.  I’m queueing for Towers of Midnight at the library now.  Baking is fun though.  And sometimes when you just want to bake some muffins or cookies, it can be hard to find a good easy recipe.  Well, no excuses now since I have over 1,000 recipes to choose from.  It’s a super sweet book though, so I’m stoked.

AND thats not all! I’ve also decided I should try yoga (especially if I’m going to be baking up a storm, you-know-what-i-mean).  I know.  I’ve never tried it (and I’m hopelessly uncoordinated and gumby).  As I’m retiring from synchro, I think taking up a new sporting activity will be  exciting, challenging and hopefully beneficial (you know, mixing it up once in a while is good for the body).  And there is my quest for the ever elusive flat stomach…  I have a feeling yoga could be key here.  We shall see.  And yoga might be good stress relief for the ever present stress inducing PhD.

Oh yes, the PhD.  : D  Can’t forget about that.  Ah…  the joys of trying to develop methods.  You spend months going round in circles answering questions you’ve already answered only to ask them again because you solved some other problem which unearthed some un-forseen new issue which you now need to solve – again…  You’re jealous, I can tell.  Naw, that’s how research is.  I was discussing “research and academia” (quotes because these terms are being used very loosely and general) last night with someone, who, never having attending University, didn’t understand why all you do in a PhD is talk about other people’s work.  Which, is a gross misconception.  A PhD must contain new material (hence the obscurity of some subjects – as the more we know, in general, the more difficult it is to ‘discover’ something new).  But how can you know if what you are studying is new if you don’t understand the context of the other work that has come before you?  So yes, you must spend a lot of time studying others’ work, and discussing how your work is related (and usually, at least in your own opinion, superior).

I nearly forgot!  How silly of me.  Summer = tramping! Hello!  That’s right, I sometimes almost forget I live in one of the most beautiful countries in the world (no actually you can’t really forget that ever).  BF and I have all our new gear (a new tent, as you might remember) and my friend and co-worker who accompanied us on the epic Milford is keen once again for a 4 or so day long tramp and the end of Feb again so now comes the tough decision…  Which one do we do????  Seriously, all the NZ tramps look fricking amazing so choosing just 1 or 2 a season is pretty tough.  I think we’ve narrowed it down the following:

  1. Hollyford
  2. Heaphy
  3. Gillespie Pass
  4. Rakiura

We’re also definitely doing the Makarora Valley with friends just after the new year.  Or at least, that is the plan.  : D

So I guess I’m in for a very busy summer.  Some people might call it overly ambitious, or perhaps, insane?

2 thoughts on “December resolutions

Leave a Reply

