New look, and some thoughts on conspiracy theories

I heart Selma Blair, although to be completely honest, I prefer her short pixie cut

Well hello there reader!  You may have noticed a new look here on Idealism never goes out of fashion.  I guess I’m trying to freshen things up a bit!

Speaking of new looks…  I’m getting a haircut tomorrow (as per usual, it’s been 4 months since the last one).  I am considering getting a fringe (or bangs, as you Americans call them).  My awesome camp-as hairdresser Jake suggested them last time I was in, and I totally shot him down because when I was 15 I had short bob with bangs and it was cringe-worthy!  I looked like a boy with a shaggy haircut.  Serious.

But now fringes seem to look pretty chic, and my hair is getting pretty long again, and I think I could use a bit of updating.  So we shall see how it goes (I haven’t decided blunt or angled yet).  I think I have an “oval” shaped face, which apparently means any hairstyle suits…  I’m a bit skeptical about this.

Yeah yeah she looks a bit too cutesy, but she does have good hair

I’m also going to try and update my Etsy shop a bit.  Maybe crop the photos more, re-shoot some photos, upload some new items (yay brooches!), etc.  I also finally managed to book a showcase spot.  They fill up so quickly. You have to book them the instant they become available.  I’ve actually written in my diary (aka journal/planner.  Sorry, I’m becoming very kiwi-ish in my language) when they are next up for grabs.  This is serious.

And, the sale for bf’s house has been finalized!!  Very very exciting.  I was especially excited when his agent sent him a cake from the Dessert Room.  It’s the premier bakery of Dunedin, supplying many cakes/desserts to the local restaurants.  The cake bf received was an amazing chocolately layered mouse with chocolate on top.  I don’t know how you can even get that much chocolate into a cake…  Intensely delicious.

I’m a little ashamed at how girlie this post is becoming:  Hair.  Chocolate cake.  Maybe these things are a little bit silly, but that doesn’t make them any less important!  Or – does it?  Ah s***.  The news has just become so depressing.  The oil spill in the gulf?  I can barely talk about it without getting a little weepy.  Honestly, how is thousands of barrels of oil floating around in the Ocean not going to seriously mess things up??  This is one of those moments I’m so glad I don’t drive a car at the moment.  I can sleep at night knowing I don’t support big oil or Wal-mart.  How my flatmate sleeps at night considering the fact that she doesn’t recycle (honestly, I pulled glass wine bottles out of the bin this week.  Not impressed.  Not impressed at all.), I have no idea.  It is actually impossible for me to like or have any positive feelings for someone who so blatantly disregards the planet.

I have recently switched over to bar shampoo.  Less packaging.  I’m a fan.  It’s really the little things.  Although, back to being depressed, the other day, bf and I were discussing technology after my aunt sent me an email forward that was a ridiculously long interview between our friends ‘Bill’ and ‘Tim’.  I have no idea who Bill and Tim are, or their expertise on said subjects.  Obviously the creator of this nice email forward assumed I would know.

Tim: Absolutely, the technology that is about to be released to the American people is unbelievable. The military said that they’ve been holding back technology for 40-50 years and they want to see it released. They’ve been hindered by big groups like the oil companies. There is not going to be any more hindrances like are now in Washington to keep you from being a prosperous people anymore. And technologies about health; there are people now that can cure cancer without any side effects and can cure it in a matter of days. I’m excited. I was cured of leukemia in 5 days. Some say that’s impossible…but I’m alive and I don’t have leukemia anymore. The bottom line is that it has been suppressed. We are going to bring this technology out. I have a friend in Seattle that has a coil and two stakes that you pound into your back yard, and it will power your house. It cost about $3,000 and will power several houses. The technologies are over whelming that is going to be released. I have a friend that has a shoebox size gadget (battery) that you charge one time and your car will run forever on it. As soon as we get our government in position, these things are going to be released to the public. Your lives are going to change like you would not believe. I’m excited! Stay tuned America.

Right…  So, I don’t endorse these views at all, but if you want to click on the links included with this enlightening forward, go here and here.  After reading this paragraph to bf, we had a brief discussion and bf said that its true military technology is years ahead.  We then discussed things such as a light bulb that never burns out.  But it’s not in the interest for a company which produces lightbulbs to seriously advance technology because if they did develop such an item – they’d put themselves out of business.  Everlasting lighbulb = no more light bulbs ever purchased again.

I guess it’s a bit of conspiracy theory, really.  Does all of this ‘amazing’ technology truly exist (there exists a concensus that technology will save us from climate change)?  Is cancer such a huge business that perhaps a cure has been discovered, but there is way too much money to be made from treating the disease (sick sick thought)?  If this is actually the case, we are doomed as a species (I know, big surprise).  The fact that greed is prohibiting our “advancement” (for lack of a better word)…  It’s well known that many human items such as appliances, cars, clothing, is designed to be obsolete so that you will need to replace it.  But has this occurred on such a grand scale??

I don’t know.  I’m skeptical.  I’d like to believe in the greater good [of humanity], that if there truly was a miracle cure for cancer (or AIDS, or rheumatoid arthritis, or hodgkin’s lymphoma, or CJD, or any other terrible disease), or amazing power technology, that these things would be available to the public.  I’m also a scientist and know that there are laws of physics (sorry, always was my weakest subject) and advanced chemistry that I don’t understand, that make some technology nearly impossible.

So now I’m going to go back into my shallow hole, and think about movies, and food, and fashion, and hair, and be thankful that tomorrow is Friday, and that the Gulf of Mexico and Thailand are both a loooonnngg way from my nice little isolated island paradise known as New Zealand.  End sarcasm.

3 thoughts on “New look, and some thoughts on conspiracy theories

    • Hehe, I know. It was a joke. : D I’ve been here wwaaaaaayyyyyyy too long and started using silly NZ English.

  1. While watching the latest news about the BP Oil spill, a frightening thought came to mind: what if we can’t stop the oil? I mean, what happens if after all the measures to cap the pipe fail, (i.e., “Top Hat”, “Small Hat” and “Top Kill”). What then? An accident this problematic is new territory for BP. The oil pipeline is nearly a mile down on the ocean floor, accessible only by robots. Add on top of that the extreme pressure at which the oil is flowing out of the pipeline and there you have it: the perfect storm.

    Moreover, scientists also claim that they’ve found an enormous plume of oil floating just under the surface of the ocean measuring approximately 10 miles long, 3 miles wide and 300 feet thick. (I’m no math genius, but I bet one of you reading this could figure out just how many barrels of oil that is…)

    There are new estimates that the amount of oil spewing into the Gulf of Mexico is anywhere from 50,000 to 100,000 barrels of oil a day: that’s a far cry from BP’s estimated 5,000 barrels a day. If BP’s estimates are correct, the total amount of oil now in the Gulf would be approximately 150,000 barrels (or 6,300,000 gallons). That’s barely enough to fill 286 swimming pools: sixteen feet, by thirty-two feet, by eight and a half feet deep. That wouldn’t cover an area the size of New York City, let alone an area the size of Delaware. Obviously, the spill is much larger than we are being led to believe. If the leak can’t be stopped, in a year’s time, we’ll have roughly 18,250,000 barrels of oil (or 766,500,000 gallons) in our oceans, killing our marine and animal wildlife. Such a calamity would be environmentally and economically disastrous. I’m not a religious man, but I pray that BP and our government work fast to end this catastrophe.

    http://www.calculateme.com/Volume/Barrels(Petroleum)/ToGallons.htm

    http://blogs.howstuffworks.com/2010/05/17/latest-news-from-the-oil-spill-in-the-gulf-of-mexico-is-grim/

    http://blogs.creativeloafing.com/dailyloaf/2010/05/20/scientist-says-oil-spill-is-leaking-100000-barrels-of-oil-a-day-not-bps-estimate-of-5000/

Leave a Reply

