Xmas blog?

So, ’tis the season for Xmas letters!  Well, okay technically I’ve only received 2 so far (both of which I thoroughly enjoyed).  It’s actually a bit of an effort for my family to even get around to sending me one.

I guess there are folks out there who despise the Christmas letter.  I don’t think any of them live in MN though.  Pretty sure Xmas letters are ingrained in the MN psyche.  I think it was 2 years ago that my parents totally stuffed up the name of my University in their annual letter.  I was not impressed.  This year I emailed them the exact name of the University, city, and what type of degree I had just finished.

I’ve always wanted to write the family Xmas letter.  In fact, last year I wrote a draft and sent it to Mom and Dad.  It didn’t get used.

So even though I regard the Xmas letter as something you start to do once you get married and have kids and technically become an adult, I can write my own, annual Christmas letter via blog!  Woo hoo!

So here goes.

Kia Ora and Happy Holidays from the Southern Hemisphere!

2009 has been a rather eventful year for me!  I am still employed by Silkbody, and love every minute of my job.  My official job title these days is “Operations Manager”, and I am sort of the the ‘jack of all trades’ in the office – doing whatever needs to be done!

I spent most of the early part of the year working hard on my Master’s thesis.  In March, I joined the Dunedin Aqaugold synchro team (coached by NZ Olympians the Daniel’s sisters); and I was offered a PhD scholarship by the University (score!).  I did take a wee break my busy schedule when my partner Dan and I spent 2 weeks in Australia at the end of Mar/early April.  In fact, we celebrated my b-day in Cairns.  It was a fabulous trip and I’m super keen to see more of NZ’s nearest neighbor.

Starting from April-June my mind goes blank and I simply remember a cold, dark, empty time known as “finishing the thesis”.  We don’t talk about this.

Life resumed again in early July.  I started feeling like a human again.  Beginning basic social interactions, etc.  Continued on with my study (writing papers for publication) until my thesis mark came back.  Apparently I passed so thank God for that.  August and September were busy months filled with much paperwork and no paper money.  The highlight of which was attending the World of Wearable Art show in Wellington (which coincided with synchro Nationals.  Our combo team – with the theme Guitarhero – came in 3rd!).  Fortunately, all of this filling out of forms paid off, as I handed in the hard copy of my Master’s thesis and I was able to start my PhD thesis in October.

Since then I’ve still been making attempts to repair my social interaction skills, which were seriously damaged in the ‘dark days’.  The ability to consume alcohol, party and stay up late is still poor, but I’m hoping that’s still an effect of the thesis (it has only been 6 months), and not a reflection of my ever advancing age.  Yes, 2009 has been a rollercoaster slightly more exciting than I possibly would have wanted, and filled with a torture (finishing a thesis) that I would never want to inflict upon any other human person.  But I persevered, and I *know* I’m a better person for it…

Hoping that 2009 was a fantastic, and slightly more normal and less academic year for you.  Looking forward to hearing from you (or better yet, seeing you!) in 2010.  Happy Holidays!

Becca

Leave a Reply

