How to determine that you’ve become a professional student

It’s Monday.  “Work on the thesis day”.

Except, I’m tired.  And I randomly came across this article while I was eating breakfast.  Hold on just a moment.  There is a makeup design and production course in New Zealand?  Who cares about cup day (i.e. horse races.  Which in NZ translates into high society fashion for some odd reason)!  I don’t know why, but lately I’ve been fascinated with stage make-up, etc.  I suppose it corresponds quite well to my first love – fashion.  It’s a periphery.  Apparel is simply only a part of the fashion world – which includes hair, makeup, shoes, photography, perfume, jewelery, handbags, belts…  By some definitions, perfume, brushing your teeth, clipping your toenails, and even umbrellas, are all considered ‘clothing’ of some sort.  Yeah, lets just say it has anything to do with the body, can be carried by the body and includes hygiene.  I’m justifying.  I know.

Right, back to this Make-up Design and Production course.  It looks SO FUN.  Moustache knotting?  I don’t know what the hell it is but it sounds fun.  I know.  I’ve got an artist/creative type inside of me, who is dying to get out.  Admittedly, there would probably be lots of other people in this course way more creative and talented than me, but I’d still like to try it out.  It’s all a part of the skill set that I’m continually building.

Yes and let’s not forget fun.  Okay, my PhD hasn’t been super fun yet.  Interesting yes.  Rewarding?  I’m sure it will be someday.  Fun?  Umm….  *crickets chirping*

Face paint

Face paint

So I’d like to do something fun.  And make-up design and production?  Damn that sounds fun.  Sure, it’s in Christchurch which I’ve never actually been to and Dan isn’t keen on, but it would only be a year…

Hahaha…  I’m sure, the exact thing I’ll want to do when I finish is more study in New Zealand (I’m pretty sure moving out of Dunedin will be atop

my list of things to do in 3 years time.  As much as I love it here, I expect I’ll need another change of scenery…).  So more study?  Yeah right.  But I can add it to the ‘to do’ someday list.  Unless I win the lottery between now and then.  In which case, yes, I would be a student for a bit longer…

One thought on “How to determine that you’ve become a professional student

Leave a Reply

